• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root PLEASE HELP! Need To Transfer .apk 's to system/app and STUCK

hey i am a droid 3 user and recently rooted it for the second time. i am relatively new to this, and i need some serious help. it started off with me being stupid and uninstalling yahoo contacts, which causes the problem of contacts.provider force closing. so with titanium i unistalled that thinking i could reinstall it. i, of course, lost all my numbers, and my system wont let me reinstall that or google services framework. im not sure how to exactly transfer the .apk file to my system/app, but i have tried using copy/paste and then installing it from there. i always get the application not installed error using root explorer. what should i do? what should i try? i've been researching for hours, and my phone can't do much. is it a problem with permissions? how should i do this correctly? :thinking:

You may want to SBF back to stock and start over. Assuming that you accepted the recent OTA to the 906 system version, your best bet is to look at this thread: [6-7-2012] .906 to .890 SBF *UPDATED* - xda-developers

And, as you learned the hard way, Titanium Backup (which is a great app) does not backup system apps like it backs up user-installed apps - it just backs up the data, assuming that the system apps will remain in place. See this FAQ from Titanium Backup: Titanium Backup Technical FAQ | Titanium Track

If you want to remove apps, the best thing is probably to use Titanium to freeze the apps. If you have Safestrap or Clockwork Recovery installed, you can also create a Nandroid backup just prior to removing apps, so you can restore if you find yourself with a problem.

Good luck.

Reactions: bitchindroid
Upvote 0