• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Please help: Note 2 came with different stylus; different parts inside, doesn't work correctly

Everyone in my house recently switched over to the Galaxy Note 2. We love the phones, but for some reason, I got stuck with a defective s-pen.

My stylus doesn't do the same basic functions as the others, such as screen capture, quick commands, etc. Further, it can do things the other pens can't, such as swipe between screens while hovering an inch above the glass and open apps, links, etc. by clicking the pen button while hovering an inch above the glass.

I love the bonus features, but the lack of basic features makes it unusable. After some research, I found all the guides to adjusting the potentiometer. I popped the button off the s-pen to adjust the little screw...and it's not there!

I can't post links or pics because I'm a newb, but if you copy and paste imgur.com/a/KUKFM, you'll see the difference between my pen and a normal pen. I even popped open all the other pens in the house, and they look normal. Mine is the only one that is missing the adjustable parts.

So...any help? Has anyone run into this before? Is there any way to fix this?

I'm guessing that I can't swap this out via warranty now that I popped it open, so any help fixing is much appreciated!

Normal s-pen, with adjustable potentiometer.
Unfortunately, this isn't from a Galaxy Note 2. I just grabbed it from an article about s-pens in general, so it doesn't have the white tip. Just ignore the tip and look at the insides and note that it has the normal little screw things that can be adjusted
7e0afd1.jpg

=============
My s-pen. Nothing to adjust. Just 2 little metal squares.
lDVhR8Y.jpg

Not sure how you get the cover off, but my pen has a white tip, like the second photo.
I'm on my fourth Note II, so have a couple spare pens if you need one, let me know.