1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support PLEASE HELP!! Phone Looping Uncontrollably

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bomp15, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. bomp15

    bomp15 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Alabama
    My rooted DInc is looping at the start up screen and I can't do anything to stop it except removing the battery. I'm running Redemptive Revolution. Before this happened tonight I was getting a bunch of force closures of pretty much everything I tried to open. I haven't installed any new apps for months. I haven't changed my phone in any appreciable way for months. Also, trying to hold the power button and the volume down button does not get me into setup, it doesn't do anything. There is no way to boot any other way...

    Anyone have any help for me out there? My phone is completely useless in this state. Have tried to remove the battery, give it some time, try again, and each time I get the looping start up screen.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am completely dejected...
     

    Advertisement

  2. olbriar

    olbriar  
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    19,067
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    19,067
    20,760
    2,013
    Male
    Land of Oz
    Have you tried holding down the power button and volume down as you are powering up the device?
     
  3. bomp15

    bomp15 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Alabama
    Yes, I added that as the edit to the original post. Figured someone would suggest that. It doesn't phase it. Keeps looping...
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    I know you said you tried getting into hboot but try it this way:
    (From a powered off state) First, press and hold down the volume DOWN button, while still holding, press and hold the power button till the phone turns on, then release.

    Never seen a phone that could turn on but not get into hboot.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  5. bomp15

    bomp15 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Alabama
    @sdrawkcab: Thanks, that definitely worked, now I have to figure out how to get it working right again... Any idea what might have caused the loop?
    Thanks!
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    +1 to the above. If you can't access hboot you are done. I'm guessing its just an issue of button pressing/timing.
     
  7. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Enter recovery, then wipe data/cache/dalvik cache (under advanced menu), then reload a Rom. Alternatively you could use a nandroid restore if you have one you'd like to revert to.
     
  8. bomp15

    bomp15 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Alabama
    Thanks guys. I ended up experimenting. Did a factory reset, but admittedly forgot to wipe data/cache/dalvik. Any harm in that? Its back to the out of the box factory stuff.

    Thanks again!
     
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Wow that's interesting. In my experience a rooted factory reset typically brings you back to day 1 of the currently loaded Rom. Oh well as long as its working for you I'd call it a win. You are still rooted right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...