1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please help screwed phone up, wont reboot from recover

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cyaiphone, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    so here's a background of what I did

    I went from CW 2.6 to RA 2.5 ( the newest version i think it's 2.5)
    The recovery flash went fine
    I created a back up. i saved everything except recover and sd_ext
    i cleared data, wiped davlik, cache, and ran cauk's format tool
    I was going to reflash my mikfroyo 4.4 when i noticed it wasn't in my sd card
    I then proceeded to reboot phone and when i hit reboot it just takes me back to the main screen
    I tried power down and restart and it takes me back to the boot menu

    My options are
    Fastboot


    Bootloader
    reboot
    reboot bootloader
    power down

    what went wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Nothing actually. You erased what was on your phone so there is nothing to reboot. Go to recovery>USB-MS Toggle>once you do that, you will be able to see your sdcard from your pc. drop the file on the sdcard, hit power to disable usb and flash the file
     
    cyaiphone likes this.
  3. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    my radios should still be good right?
     
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    yep, those are flashed differently and are not erased by wiping in recovery.
     
  5. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    Another thing,(currently flashing new rom) that nandroid that i made....Is it still good or did it back up something that wasn't working? i believe i created the nandroid before I started wiping, but I'm not sure.
     
  6. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Once you get flashed boot the phone to make sure it flashed ok. Reboot to recovery and make a new nandroid then try and restore the previous one. If you made it before wiping it should return you to the point before you wiped. If not, then you will be back stuck in hboot/recovery. Then you can just restore your newest one.
     
    cyaiphone likes this.
  7. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    thanks again! you're a life saver!
     
  8. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Any time!
     
  9. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    I got another problem i pm'd extreme about but i'll post it here just in case he has logged off.

    I added PRI 1.77, a mikfroyo them, and a netchary (sp) them to my sd card. I then wiped davlik, cache, and flashed PRI 1.77 zip. when i tried to reboot I got a picture of an evo with green errors above it. The phone then booted to the white HTC splash screen and the shot me back to recovery. The picture of the evo with the green arrows is on the bottom of the screen. What happened here?
     
  10. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Did you make a nandroid of mik? You could try that or reflash the rom.
     
  11. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    phone seems to be ok but every time i go into recover i have a picture of that evo and green arrows. Ima try a restore. If anyone knows why im getting this image please let me know.
     
  12. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    Shit i can't even get into Recovery now F ME! My screen is stuck with the picture of the phone with the green arrows above it. What the heck did I do?

    ok now the screen has gone and I'm in recovery. I'm going to do my nandroid. Geez i thought RA was supposed to cause less pain than clockwork.

    This hapenned after i attempted to go from PRL 1.90 to 1.77. if anyone has any idea let me know please. I'm pulling my hair out.
     
  13. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Might not have flashed correctly. I take it is ok now? Usually when there is that pic it is because it is installing something. Not sure why it would have stuck but it seems you got the PRI you wanted and your recovery is back now.
     
  14. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    here's where i'm at. I reflashed the 1.90 PRL and it didn't fix it. I went ahead and just did a nandroid. Im on stock from now. I still have the new radios and PRL 1.90
    I'm going to flash mikfroyo 4.4, with a pink theme, netachary kernal, and want to go back down to 1.7PRL. How should I go about doing all this?
     
  15. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    418
    108
    68
    Flashing radios can take longer than people think. The best thing you can do it let it sit and finish its thing. Flashing a new radio is one of the few things that can truly mess things up on the phone, so take caution while doing so. Be sure you read a lot about what you are going to do before you do it. But from the sounds of it everything is ok now, right?
     
  16. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    418
    108
    68
    I posted before seeing your last post. My first recommendation is to do each of those one at a time. If it were me, I would start with the radio (as my post states above, be very careful going about this process - make sure you read the instructions completely), then I would flash the ROM followed by a reboot to make sure everything was working properly. Then I would make a nand backup, wipe caches and flash the kernel. Then, I would boot up and make sure all is well before making another nand and wiping caches and flashing the theme.

    That is probably a longer process than most people would go through, but I usually tend to take things slow and not be stingy on the nand backups or wipes. Before you start, however, I would wait for some validation of what I am saying. It's been a long day so I would appreciate someone else either backing me up or correcting me.
     
  17. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    so when that image with the green arrows appears does that just mean it's installing something? I got that the installation was complete from RA. I went ahead and did and restored a nandroid. I checked my radios and I'm at 2.15.00.11.19 and my prl is at 1.90PRL. I'm sitting in the recovery screen right now waiting for advice. I haven't seen that image anymore so i think im ok. Just trying to figure out the correct way to do this now. This is what i want to do

    Flash MikFroyo 4.4, flash theme, flash Netachary kernal, Flash back down to .177 prl.


    is there a specific order i should do this in? i also want to do it all in the same recovery session. is that doable? or do I need to flash ROM, reboot, wipe davlik/cache and flash kernal reboot, wipe cache davlik flash theme reboot, wipe cache davlik flash prl reboot?
     
  18. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    My radios are still the same. I have the newest radios with PRL 1.90. Should I flash PRL 1.77 before I flash the ROM?
     
  19. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I would do the PRL flash first, reboot and check, recovery-wipe Everything and flash the rom, reboot and check, recovery-wipe dalvik-cache and flash the kernel, reboot and check
     
  20. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    so the first thing i went to do was wipe cache and instantly I got those green arrows again with the phone. it does say wipe is complete. :thinking:
     
  21. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    not sure what to make of it. Try flashing the PRL file and see if it works. maybe somehow the background pic in recovery got changed. Mine is Amon RA 2.3 and says htc in the background
     
  22. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    I tried flashing the 1.77 PRL and it did not work. I hit reboot and the image was still there and didn't reboot. it took me back to recovery with that image still there. I deleted all the root items from my sd card and hit reboot and now the phone rebooted correctly. WTF. I was thinking of reflashing the RA pc36img.zip file. what do you think? I just checked my PRL and I am at 1.77.
     
  23. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    reflashing the PC36IMG file wouldn't hurt anything. You could try it and see if it fixes it
     
  24. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    reflashed. Im going to flash rom first and see how that goes.
     
  25. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    im going to break this phone!!! I should have just stuck with Clockwork.

    I got into recovery fine. then once i hit wipe cache the stupid image of the phone with arrows appears again! i wiped cache davlik, and did a factory reset. Green arrows with phone still there. My patience is running thin now. I'm going to flash ROM and see what happens.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...