1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please Help! Stuck on Htc Evo 4g Boot Screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Gus22, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    i apologize if this has been posted before but i have been researching for days before posting this thread. i have an htc evo which is rooted. i am running cyanogenmod 6. its been running fine for months and then all of the sudden my phone turned to the white htc evo 4g boot screen and has been stuck on it ever since until i take my battery out. I try to boot into recovery but then it automatically goes right back to the white screen. Ive also tried to flash a new rom but when plugging my phone into the comp and going to hboot usb the computer is not reading the phone and vise versa. So, cant go into recovery and cant do hboot usb to flash a new rom. If anyone has had this happen to them or have any suggestions they would be greatly appreciated. Thank You
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so what happens when you power off then press and hold power+vol down? does it go to the hboot(bootloader) screen?
     
  3. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    yes it does ... and then if i hit recovery it goes straight to the white htc evo 4g boot screen then after 2 seconds goes black and then white screen and then black and so on. it does this until i take the battery out. its been a while but if i remember correctly if i push hboot usb while plugged into the comp it should give me more options to zip from flash drive or whatever but it doesnt read that its plugged into anything it just says no image found. my phone has been working fine on cyanogenmod for over half a year and out of the blue its useless
     
  4. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    i would flash a new rom if i could but its not letting me or maybe i just dont remember how
     
  5. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    822
    92
    78
    Sounds like u have no recovery have u tried a recovery.Img to be updated in hboot
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Gus22 likes this.
  7. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    So you're saying you're not able to mount your sd card in recovery?
     
  8. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    that sounds like a great idea unfortunatly i dont have a card reader right now. im going to get one tomorrow and load that recovery onto my card and see if it works thank you so much for your help
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no he has no recovery for some reason. he only has hboot. so hopefully he can transfer the PC36IMG.zip over to his sd card via a card reader.

    just make sure that it is named correctly. hboot will only see the file if it is named PC36IMG. if you add a .zip to it then you will get a file named: PC36IMG.zip.zip (as windows hides extensions) and hboot will not see it.
     
  10. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    OIC, should've done more than just skim the thread :p.
     
  11. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    ok so no luck so far. I dowlaoded the recovery and im confused as to why my phone doesnt read it. you say you have to rename it but it is already named pc36img.zip. there are two downloads one says supersonic something and the other one is the pc36img.zip. which one do i put on my sd card. and how do i get my phone to read either one. when i get into hboot it reads my sd but says no files found
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so here is a step by step:
    1.download this file PC36IMG_RA_2.3.zip.
    2.rename it by just deleting the "_RA_2.3" part of the name. since wondows hides extensions, do not add a .zip to the name. otherwise, it will be named PC36IMG.zip.zip which will not work.
    3.using your card reader transfer the file over to the root(not in any folder) of the sd card.
    4.power off then press and hold power+vol down to get to hboot(bootloader)
    5.hboot should then scan automatically for the file.
    6.if it is named correctly, it will ask you to update. press vol up for yes.
    7.once it is done it will ask if you want to reboot. press vol down for no.
    8.it should now load your new recovery and from there you should have an option in the menu for usb-ms toggle. now you have access to your sd card from your computer via recovery and should be able to flash a new rom. since you were on cm6, i would recommend that you check out cm7.0.3.1 with a tiamat kernel.

    hopefully this will work for you. any questions feel free to ask.
     
  13. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    well, unfortunately that didnt work. i loaded the file onto my sd card and named it what you said to name it. i even moved everything off the sd card expect for that file. when i boot into hboot it reads the sd card but says no file found and goes to the hboot home screen. If it helps at all this is the text at the top of the hboot home screen

    SUPERSONIC EVT2-3 SHIP S-OFF
    HBOOT-0.97.0000
    MICROP-0412F
    TOUCH PANEL-ATMELC03_16ac
    RADIO-2.15.00.09.01
    Aug 19 2010, 14:29:08

    Throughout my research I have seen that if it says SHIP S-OFF at the top that its not possible to falsh a new recovery or something. Im not sure what to do i think i now have an expensive paper weight. Thank you again for your continuing advice
     
  14. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    S-off means you have nand unlocked are able to flash recovery and anything else. Did you verify the file is on the root(top level) of your SD card? Is it named properly?
     
  15. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    when i push recovery it goes to frozen white screen. the file is the only file on the sd card and it is named correctly
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so lets try and re-download the file and try again. sometimes it could be a bad download. you can also try a different recovery. i gave you amon ra 2.3. you can try clockwork mod 2.6 as well. what size is your sd card out of curiosity?
     
  17. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
  18. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    where do i find clockwork mod
     
  19. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    oh well just a thought. some evos have issues with smaller cards. have you tried to re-download the .zip file?
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  21. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    ok i used one of the stock recoveries and it worked... to an extent.. i pushed yes for update and no for reboot and it brought me back to the hboot homescreen again but there is no usb-ms toggle like you said would be there to access the sd card. maybe ill just keep trying different recoveries
     
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    which stock ones did you use exactly. please post a link for it. if you still can try clockwork mod 2.6 or amon ra 2.3.
     
  23. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    i used PC36_RECOVERY_3.29.651.5.zip i dont know how to post a link
     
  24. Gus22

    Gus22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    flashed amon ra 2.3 and same problem .. asked to update then to reboot if i push no to reboot have no option to get into sd and if i push yes to reboot it goes back to frozen white screen
     
  25. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,585
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,585
    14,428
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok try clockwork mod 2.6
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...