1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Please help Wi-Fi not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by compu_tech, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. compu_tech

    compu_tech Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I'm going crazy. I try to turn on my wi-fi on my cell phone but it's not working. When I try to turn it on it says, "Error". I have a Samsung Replenish. My phone doesn't have a MAC address or anything. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    349
    37
    63
    Male
    Systems Analyst
    Wilkes-Barre, PA
    That sounds like a potential hardware problem. Is there any further information with the error?

    My Replenish works great with wireless, including my secured wireless network.
     
  3. compu_tech

    compu_tech Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I tried to turn it on a few days ago, and it showed all of the wireless networks thereafter. However, the phone froze and now the wi-fi won't turn back on. No there's no error information. You know how when you push to turn the wi-fi on? Right below, it says "Turning on"? So it first says that, then after a few seconds later, it says "Error".
     
  4. BadAxe

    BadAxe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Spoke to Sprint a couple days ago about this and was told...... You must call Sprint for the feature to be activated for $1 a day, and you call to deactivate it when done. Any overages will be prorated. So basically if you need it for work/school on Tues and Wed you call to start it on Tues and call when your done on Wed to have it turned off, costing you $2 a week.

    Still cheaper than a hotspot devise. Interestingly enough the sales person (at a franchise dealer) also said as she walked away, "you can also jailbreak the hotspot feature" "we know how to, but I can't talk about that"
     
  5. ky7

    ky7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    This is for the Sprint Mobile Hotspot feature, which creates a Wifi zone. I am thinking the original question refers only to the Wifi feature that allows the phone to access a wifi network, which works with no additional cost. I'd agree with the thought that it may be a hardware issue if cycling the phone on and off doesn't get it to work. You could also go into system settings and make sure the phone's software is up to date.
     

Share This Page

Loading...