1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root PLEASE HELP will not even boot into cwm

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elizabethcook, May 11, 2012.

  1. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    PROBLEM SOLVED - THANK YOU TO EVERYONE THAT HELPED IN THE PROCESS :)

    So to put it bluntly guys, I am a dumbass (excuse my language) and for some reason decided to root my phone before activating it? I think I was just excited but definitely did not take the right steps to make this happen.

    Somehow, in the whole aspect of the thing, I went to boot into recovery so that I could do a factory restore - I cannot even seem to do that. No matter what I do I cannot boot into recovery mode.

    So my next course of action was to try the Vol - and power button to get into /mobile so I could at least put the old recovery.img back on it and I cannot even do that. It keeps saying that it is a "read only folder" and even when changing the permissions, it doesn't stick and I am stuck with a phone I cannot use.

    Do you guys know of any way that I can fix this? THANK YOU SO MUCH in advance, any and all help is appreciated :-(
     

    Advertisement

  2. EManU3LXX

    EManU3LXX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012


    Try adb (PM me if you need help with this) to reboot recovery to make sure you actually don't have a recovery installed, and if you don't you can flashboot the recovery.img (PM me if you need help) if neither this works, you can try sbfing.. I believe this works for the Triumph
     
    elizabethcook likes this.
  3. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    does the phone boot at all????


    you say you tried to get into recovery to reset, so were you in the recovery before, and now it doesnt work??

    did u install a rom?? or is it still stock??

    does it try and boot??, if so, you can try to pull the battery mid boot, and leave it out for atleast a minute, hold the power button for 30 seconds while battery is out to drain any remaining power, this should change most settings back to default, then dont try and boot the phone normally, try to get back to CWM recovery

    i know the phone must be stock to activate, idk if CWM recovery being on it will effect it or not
     
    elizabethcook likes this.
  4. jarjar124

    jarjar124 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012

    Apr 2, 2012
    391
    45
    63
    NYC
    pull the battery for a minute, put it back in then reboot into cwm. worked for me :p
     
  5. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    it does boot, and i was in recovery before. i installed g60 style slaughterhouse. of course i had no problems until i went to activate. i don't know why it didn't occur to me to just WAIT.

    i will try the pull the battery trick and then drain it to see if that works. try as i might, i have not been able to get back into cwm no matter how hard i try.

    EDIT!

    When I try to go into CWM, it vibrates as if to tease me and then just stays stuck on the splash screen
     
  6. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)


    rooting allows you or apps to change things you otherwise couldnt, so i could see it somehow changing the MOBILE to R/O instead of R/W

    idk if the fact that you not only rooted but then installed a rom before trying to activate had anything to do with it, i know its highly unadvised


    you can also try to remain holding all the buttons just keep em all in, if you hold them for longer then a 1 minute and its still on the splash then youll def know its stuck
     
  7. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    I've done that twice already, had to pull the battery both times.

    Is there a way to restore to factory without being the settings menu or cwm menu? I think this is my only option and it's one I hope is out there.
     
  8. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    if you made a nandroid backup of your stock phone, which i hope you did,then i believe youll need CWM recovery to Restore it

    im currently not running the g60, but does it have rom manager or when you hold power to turn the device off> choose reboot, does it have the option recovery for rebooting into recovery?


    also make sure nothing is plugged into the phone
     
  9. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    I just rebooted into recovery, and so far it seems stuck on the splash screen again. I can't help but wonder if the /mobile being stuck in read only might have something to do with it but I wouldn't know where to begin with that sort of thing.

    I do have a nandroid backup, and I was so excited when you reminded me about reboot into recovery - until it didn't work! I am going to try to download rom manager from the market through wifi and see if I can get somewhere with that.
     
  10. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    well the rom manager just also had a reboot to recovery option, until i remembered the phone also has one


    also did you install a rom and then root?? or the other way, cause roms are opened up already, im just wondering

    dont even know if its possible, but i was thinking maybe you installed the rom, which already had root access, then you rooted using a program like gingerbreak which has the ability to unroot also it may have locked the system files or MOBILE drive, they have free root checkers on the market place
     
  11. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    Is it also possible to restore from a backup through the rom manager and do you think that could solve my problem?

    Nevermind, it is still of course stuck on the splash screen. I don't know why I thought going through rom manager would make a difference! I think my only option is to figure, out a way to turn the read only into a read/write again. I know someone else has figured it out before but they didn't say how. Just that they "messed around a bit."
     
  12. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    ive never had to use the rom manager options but they are

    Flash clockworkmod recovery
    reboot into recovery
    install rom from sd
    download rom
    check for rom updates
    manage and restore backups
    backup current rom
    fix permissions
    partition sd card
    the last 3 options shouldnt apply

    so idk if it would work for ya or not, also CWM is needed to be installed for it to work, idk if yours not working will effect it
     
  13. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Try reinstalling the drivers
     
  14. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    How do I do this? And is it done without CWM?
     
  15. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
  16. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    i think hes referring to on the pc itself
     
  17. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
  18. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    ...any luck?
     
  19. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    none yet. Everything I've done so far gets me stuck on the splash screen, can is a no go so far. I have Linux so could not install the drivers. There is a recovery.img in the /mobile folder but its still stuck on read only and I can't figure out how to fix that either.
     
  20. raysurrx7

    raysurrx7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    82
    14
    18
    something i notice is that the phone will only boot into CWM if it vibrates when you power it on. If it does not vibrate it will attempt to start loading the rom.
     
  21. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    its vibrated a couple times like it was going to start cwm and it still stayed on the splash screen
     
  22. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    If you put the stock recovery.img back into the phone NOT the cwm recovery.img, will it boot into recovery then?
     
    elizabethcook likes this.
  23. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Lol I gotta ask, are you pressing and holding the right buttons when you're starting up?
     
  24. elizabethcook

    elizabethcook Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    Georgia
    I'm really not sure. That's what I was trying to do when it decided to tell me that "/MOBILE" is read-only and I cannot edit the contents of the folder. I've been going crazy since then trying to figure out how to fix it.

    On a side note: Are all stock recovery.img's the same? Just checking because I have a recovery.img from the first MT I had but I did not copy the recovery.img for this one.
     
  25. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    Yes, it should be the same.

    Was the phone in the Download mode at the time that it said the /MOBILE drive was read-only? Because there's another /MOBILE drive that shows up when you plug in the phone when it is on normally. It is not the same as the /MOBILE drive when the phone is in download mode.

    Download mode is when you see the little scrolling "polling" messages on the screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...