• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Please help with root/rom, have s-off (was- Accidentally updated after root!?)

AdamControl

Dec 31, 2012
MOD NOTE - Please jump down to post 29, s-off and TWRP are done.

http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-lte...identally-updated-after-root.html#post5388925

Hey guys! Sorry if I sound stupid because I’m new to all this and particularly not good at this but need help please if you can. I wanted to root my LTE specifically to use ARLiberator with my AppRadio. I “rooted” my phone using the Mac method, which I use the root term loosely because none of my info was wiped but I still was able to run ARLiberator perfectly on my AppRadio as intended so it was fine. But I accidentally updated Android. Busy at work and hit the prompts without really thinking Now obviously ARLiberator won’t work (it just simply will never connect to the head unit) and I tried to reroot using the same Mac method but I just get a bunch of failure messages during the process and it ends up acting the same. I’m sorry if I sound stupid but I would really appreciate a helping hand. I did not make a backup with Nandroid (I wasn't even aware of it) and also when I launch SuperUser it asks to update the binary but then fails to install it. You think a Factory Data Reset would help, also? Thank you in advance!

If you rooted without losing anything on a Mac, then you likely used zedomax's root.

If you didn't use LazyPanda from there (the exploit was closed by the time Dirty Racun came out) to get s-off, and you didn't HTCdev unlock (you would have lost everything), then you couldn't have known about or made a nandroid backup. Eh, these things happen.

After you tell us about your hboot (which is likely to read the latest, regardless, because of the ota) please say if you want to root still using your Mac or if you're on to Windows.