1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please help!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pacedrum69, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    ok ...Ive asked this 3000 times already...and noone has answered me ...I have installed SDK, and all the bullshit that goes along with it....(drivers, 2.1 package) .... When I plug my phone in....my comp says its connected (the little yellow "!" )....then I click on "install drivers" ...and IT KEEPS TELLING ME FILE NOT FOUND!!! WTF am I doing wrong??

    Heres another question.... Do I need to complete the HBOOT thing (installing the PBOOIMG.zip on the my SD card) first??

    Im so frustrated from trying to do this, and Im a noob....Anyone??:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,431
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    pacedrum, I've seen references to this before. I see one reference about the yellow exclamation having to do with USB debugging mode not enabled (in the settings on the phone).

    The reference is in

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html

    and says "8. Right-click My Computer > Properties, and go to Device Manager. You should see a device with a yellow exclamation next to it, this is your phone (if you don't see it you probably forgot to enable USB debugging mode)

    9. Right-click the device, select Update Driver. Browse to your Android SDK directory, and you should see a "USB Driver" folder in it now. If you don't, you forgot to download the USB Driver package when in "SDK Setup.exe". Select the driver in that folder."

    or did you already try this?

    thanks
     
  3. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    http://androidforums.com/all-things...ng-after-flash-latest-rom-ota.html#post473425

    Been answered many of many times. Search is your friend. And yes I know there are tons of results, but I just did it and found this.
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,431
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
  5. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

  6. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Also, when I put the new file in the drivers folder, it says it already exists too... ??
     
  7. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    You want to overwrite the file. Then after you overwrite the file, go to device manager where you see the yellow !. Then right click and hit update driver. Go to the dir where you extracted this file. Select that file. And wolla.

    I did a complete power down before doing this as I was having issues with it as well. Dont know why it fixed it but it did. So try that if this doesnt work for you.

    And dont forget to hit the thank you button once it works. ;)
     
    pacedrum69 likes this.
  8. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    it still doesnt work... FML...lol... is there a way around the drivers??
     
  9. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

  10. Murphy

    Murphy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    67
    5
    16
    Try going into the device manager and delete or uninstall the phone, restart the computer and let it detect the phone on startup.

    Is this Windows 7?
     
  11. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    im on xp....
     
  12. Murphy

    Murphy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    67
    5
    16
    If the delete and restart doesn't work I believe people have had positive results from installing the HTC Sync software. That should update the drivers and let you continue on with the root process.
     
    pacedrum69 likes this.
  13. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    it worked :)..... Im so excited... THANKS SO MUCH YOU GUYS!!!
     
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,431
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    dude, congrats! welcome to the root club! I feel/felt your pain too...my own rooting experience was not a smooth one either (but a great learning experience!), but with help from the great folks on AF, I got it working. :D
     
  15. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    ok...1 more question.... when flashing recovery....where do I type the command prompts?? like I said Im a noob...but im learning all this from you guys...very very cool...like ive said before... Im just a dumb musician
     
  16. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,431
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    lol--at least you HAVE some musical abilities (I've got zero) :rolleyes: [but I'm okay with that]

    Exactly what instructions are you following? (don't want to tell you the wrong thing at the wrong step...).
     
  17. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    explore to tools folder in your SDK.......hold shift and right clock on the tools folder....select "open command prompt." This will bring you to a command screen where you will type in the recovery commands.
     
    pacedrum69 likes this.
  18. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    this part is what i need help on ...

    1. Download this file: Recovery.zip

    2. Extract file contents to your \tools\ directory of your Android SDK.

    3. Open up a command prompt and go to your tools directory, and execute these commands: (MAKE SURE YOUR SDCARD IS NOT MOUNTED TO YOUR COMPUTER OR THESE COMMANDS WON'T WORK! MAKE SURE IT IS ON "CHARGE ONLY")
    • adb shell mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    • adb push recovery.img /sdcard
    • adb push flash_image /system/bin
    • adb shell chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image
    • adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img

    4. Success! You now have a recovery partition installed on your phone. You can access it by running "adb shell reboot recovery" or by powering off your phone, holding "Volume Up + Power On"
     
  19. Murphy

    Murphy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    67
    5
    16
    Download the file

    Extract the contents to the folder you are told to

    Click on start...Run
    Type CMD and hit enter
    Type cd c:\androidsdk (replace androidsdk with the exact name of your android sdk folder)

    Once there you can select the commands (without the leading bullets) and copy, then go into the command window and right-click and select PASTE. Cuts down on the errors.

    Good luck!!!
     
  20. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,431
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Looks like you are following the "GUIDE: From stock 1.5 to latest root 2.1"...

    Man, Murphy is too fast for me! Beat me to the punch...:)
     
  21. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    What rom should I flash?? I was thinking evil eris 3.0.... will I be able to use launcher pro...navigation..and xscope?
     
  22. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,431
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
  23. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    this isnt working....Ive plugged my phon in as "charge only" and gone to "RUN"...."cmd" and I typed "cd c:\android-sdk_r06-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools
    and I get
    "this system cannot find specified path"
    ??
     
  24. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,431
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    pacedrum69, don't exactly know if this will fix your issue, but you might try launching the DOS window from the Start button, Programs, Accessories, Command Prompt. I had to do this when my cmd/command program (launched from RUN) would not recognize long directory path names. Try this and see if it helps.
     
  25. pacedrum69

    pacedrum69 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    didnt do anything... Now my phone is half rooted,,,,UGH...
    anyone have any suggestions??

    I completely suck at this:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...