1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please Hold My Hand - Want to Try a Rom...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Puddin422, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    I am rooted with the 2.5.5 method that does not require flashing a rom over it. (because I was scared to..lol)

    I have dowloaded the other root method..3.0.0..something (the folder is named OneClickRootCWM3-EB13). I have also downloaded Syndicate Frozen.

    I am told I can run the new root method over my current. Does this mean that I just go through the same steps as if I am not currently rooted?

    When root is complete, will it take me straight to cwm to be able to flash the Syndicate rom? I just want to know what to expect.

    Also, what's the difference between the back/restore feature of CWM and Titanium Backup?

    Lastly, just to clarify..when do you wipe cache/data/delvick in this process?

    I know, totally newb questions, but I want to be 1000% clear so I don't brick my phone again. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    1000% is a lot, in case you're wondering. hehe

    And a GREAT, BIG THANK YOU to all of you in this forum who have been so helpful to me and other newbies. It is very much appreciated.
     
  3. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    You will love SRF :)

    All videos in this post are easy to follow, and awesome! lol. Tschofield7 has done and continues to do a great job with them.

    Now onto your predicament :p
    Make sure you have the ROM on your SD card before you start :)
    1. Yes you just root using the CWM3 method as if you aren't rooted. Follow his video for rooting with CWM3 and flash the SRF ROM.
    2. After you run CWM3 it will reboot your phone once its complete and you can make sure you have superuser app installed this confirms your root. After that you need to boot into CWM3 and you can do that by holding all the hard buttons down. (both volumes, camera, and power) until the phone boots, then you will be in CWM3 where you need to flash the ROM. At this point you just follow along in his video.
    3. The back up and restore in CWM is the same as a Nandroid back up, not sure on the titanium as I have never used it. But the back up in CWM3 backs up all your texts, app data, etc...
    4. After you boot back up into CWM3 to flash your ROM is when you would wipe your cache/data/delvick. Do it 3 times each to be safe ;)

    And again just follow this video from Tschofield7. It shows exactly what you are trying to do. Root then flash SRF :)

    YouTube - How to Root Samsung Epic and flash SyndicateFrozenRom 1.1.0

    the post I linked above has all of his videos. To include ripping into a theme just for a piece of it instead of all of it :p

    GL with your journey and let us know how it turns out :D
     
  4. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    If I already have superuse, how else can I confirm that THIS root method took? The one I use currently does not convert files to xt4 so I'll brick my phone (again..lol) if I try to flash that rom over it. So I need to be sure that THIS root method took hold.

    And to clarify, after the root, reboot into cwm, and do the wipes before flashing the rom, correct? I'm sure it's in the video but just in case..
     
  5. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Oh, and I'm using a nice, big Blackberry data cable. No more worries about using the stock data cable. Woohoo!
     
  6. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    since your rooted do you have a root acces app? Shootme? just run it and it will ask for permission? :p

    yep run CWM3
    [MOD][One Click Root] Clockwork Mod version 3.0.0.5/6 - UPDATED FOR EB13! - xda-developers
    file name to download is OneClickRootCWM3-EB13.zip
    so if that is the one you downloaded after running that it will convert you to EXT4
    and yes you do the wipes before flashing the ROM :p
    GL :)
     
  7. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Yes, I have Shootme. I will run it now so that it already has permission (I just odin'd back tos tock and rerooted yesterday so I haven't run it yet). So it should only ask permission again if this new root took, right? That's why you are suggesting it?

    I also have Quickboot, Ad Free, Root Explorer.
     
  8. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    Yep i was saying to run it to make sure you still have root :p
     
  9. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Is there a way to confirm the xt4 file system, by any chance?
     
  10. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    When you convert to EXT4 you need to MANUALLY boot into recover (via the 3 button method) and allow the file system to convert. They say that you don't need to have a ROM on the SD card ready to flash, but IMO you might as well have it there and ready to go anyways.

    When you boot into recovery it will go through a few minute process saying that it's converting everything. The top of the recovery screen will say CWM3.0.0.x and the text will be orange.
     
  11. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    Connect to your PC and open adb shell, or download a terminal emulator, and type: mount If you see EXT4, it's EXT4. If you see RFS, it's RFS. Otherwise once you boot into CWM3 it converts it automatically.
     
  12. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43

    Beat me to it :p posting from phandroid so takes longer lol

    Edit: I second the having a rom on the sd card. Never heard anyone say you don't need it there lol everyone says its a must :p rather safe than sorry anyway ;)
     
  13. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    Agreed, better safe than sorry!

    The directions have changed so many times anymore I just make up my own along the way. :cool::eek::D
     
  14. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Success!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  15. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    If you go to the last page or two of the thread for that root, any time someone is having an issue, people ask "did you flash a rom?" So, obviously, enough people are having issues with that root without flashing a rom..enough that it's safer to say that you NEED to. :)
     
  16. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,745
    823
    :D

    Yeap, completely agree!
     
  17. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    Conrgats!!!
    Hope you enjoy the awesome custom roms :p
    Glad it went smoothly for ya

    Definately! Rather do it right 3 times then wrong...47 times lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...