1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Please post here when you receive ics ota

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by admn81, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. admn81

    admn81 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    641
    150
    93
    MN
    Spoke to someone with LG a few minutes ago, and they said the ICS update is only going to be available via OTA.
     

    Advertisement

  2. StarScream2109

    StarScream2109 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,393
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    5,393
    1,472
    313
    Male
    Air Commander
    Cybertron
    It makes sense it shouldn't be to long before you guys get it
     
  3. Staticaxe

    Staticaxe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    91
    11
    18
    Maryland, USA
    Finally got the LG software assistant to DO something... it's upgrading now. 8 minutes remaining. Will report back shortly!


    Edit: Yikes! Just hit the power button to see if there was any change on the phone and got a screen that says "Download Mode - Do Not Unplug device, etc..." this is taking a LONG time! Hoping this is a good sign!

    Edit 2: Bummer. Looks like just upgraded to V6? I thought that was what I got when I followed the instructions in the thread to return to pure stock? Oh well... lots of excitement for nothing.
     
  4. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    I believe there is something changed in the V6 return to stock fine that is being detected, causing it to download the update to your phone. This has happened to several people
     
  5. bones420la

    bones420la Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    518
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    518
    82
    78
    leland NC

    i think with mine its picking up the kernel.. but a sure way to find out what your about to update to is to check in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\LGMOBILEAX\phone it should have the cab file your downloading in there... it just did it to me.. again
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    its rumoured the ICS upgrade will be OTA only. ;)
     
  7. StarScream2109

    StarScream2109 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,393
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    5,393
    1,472
    313
    Male
    Air Commander
    Cybertron
    Yes as I've read it will be an OTA update
     
  8. WaVeS

    WaVeS Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    80
    11
    18
    Cincy
    Do you have the drivers for your phone installed? I would use 'mass storage' and make sure USB debugging is checked.
     
  9. bones420la

    bones420la Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    518
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    518
    82
    78
    leland NC
    A.J.: He should take it to your local store and tell them to force the new software.


    ^^ from someone at verizons webchat help said that... anyone on stock close to a vzw store wanna try this?
     
  10. becksalottery

    becksalottery Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    Professional fashion photographer (and by that, I
    Dullsville (aka Georgia, USA)
    I'm pretty sure I did; was woken up 5 times last night by my phone demanding I update to v6 (usually it only asks me to do this once a week, so the insistence was weird to begin with). Then this morning it asked me something a little differently with different instructions, kinda implying it was the ics ota. I denied it rhough bc I didnt know what it would do if it realised it was missing the original Swype + the v6 update.
     
  11. admn81

    admn81 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    641
    150
    93
    MN
    Did you ever take the official v6 update or just install a v6 based ROM?
     
  12. becksalottery

    becksalottery Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    Professional fashion photographer (and by that, I
    Dullsville (aka Georgia, USA)
    since I'm missing the original Swype apk (i had to delete the original to update to a newer version), v6 always fails due to 'system error' when it attempts install.
     
  13. admn81

    admn81 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    641
    150
    93
    MN
    It was trying to update from v6 from v4 I'd assume. Finndo has a link with the files I will edit my post and post link. maybe somEone else can direct ya to it.
    http://joelperryproductions.com/spectrum/stock/

    There's the link the apk should be there
     
  14. becksalottery

    becksalottery Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    Professional fashion photographer (and by that, I
    Dullsville (aka Georgia, USA)
    thanks for the link!!! but no, it was something besides the v6 update-- it nags me so often i have that popup memorised. This new message was worded differently and l didn't think to screenshot it :( l dont know.for sure though, since i accepted neither. alas! :p
     
  15. admn81

    admn81 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010

    Nov 20, 2010
    641
    150
    93
    MN
    Your making me tempted to go back to stock and see lol can someone whose on stock try and post what they get?
     
  16. Monkeyzluck

    Monkeyzluck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    70
    21
    18
    engineer
    I'm on stock since last week and it says that I'm up to date with V6
     
    admn81 likes this.
  17. becksalottery

    becksalottery Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    Professional fashion photographer (and by that, I
    Dullsville (aka Georgia, USA)
    I KNOW DUDE. I'm so tempted ro fix the swype thing and update to v6 to see if i get the new update message again. but i dont want to lose root if i dont get ics as a reward :p
     
  18. Monkeyzluck

    Monkeyzluck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    70
    21
    18
    engineer
    You might be a winner on the it's roulette. It's not hard to get rooted again anyway with the awesome tools our deva made.
     
  19. hollywoods14

    hollywoods14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    889
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    889
    121
    113
    Salvage Yard
    Florida

    if just ups you to v6 the AIO works to root and install cwm.
     
  20. MrB206

    MrB206 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,879
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Or you can just keep a rooted v6 nandroid. You have to remove and replace the recovery of course but at least you could know when ota is available and reject it.
     
  21. hollywoods14

    hollywoods14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    889
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    889
    121
    113
    Salvage Yard
    Florida
    i think even on B.O. oe B.P is will try to download the ota wont it? I know it did with the v6 update.
     
  22. bones420la

    bones420la Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    518
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    518
    82
    78
    leland NC
    i thought mt fixed that in the newest BO?
     
  23. hollywoods14

    hollywoods14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    889
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    889
    121
    113
    Salvage Yard
    Florida
    not usre if he did or not. I know me made a zip to block it while we were on the v5 based B.O. 2.0
     
  24. bones420la

    bones420la Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    518
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    518
    82
    78
    leland NC
    I must have been thinking about the bootloop fix
     
  25. Monkeyzluck

    Monkeyzluck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    70
    21
    18
    engineer
    Now it looks like Bell's (Canadian service provider) version of the Optimus lte will be getting Ics sooner than later. Hopefully that will put a fire under Verizon to show that they aren't the slowest at implementing update, now that it seems that Sprint is going to beat them with the Nitro (who's update is coming tomorrow) :p!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...