1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Please tell me im doing something wrong.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mike208, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. mike208

    mike208 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    129
    9
    36
    I downloaded a pic i want to set as my wallpaper. When i attempt to do this it brings up the pic and the green box you use to crop the photo if you want to. The pic i got is tall so it should be a good fit for.the screen but unfortunately the box is maxing out width wise and wont let me extend it to the height i need to grab the whole pic. Am i doing it wrong? Can i just set the pic without using the box and have it use the full pic?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    Evo's wallpaper size is actually wider then it is tall, 960x800. So you need a more widescreen or landscape orientated photo.
     
  3. sagedil

    sagedil Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    796
    178
    93
    Laid off....sigh
    Raleigh, NC
    The phone sucks trying to do this natively. I spent $0.99 on a program called Wallpaper Maker that did it perfectly. I know have my own art as my wallpaper.
     
  4. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    I agree. Having and knowing how to use photoshop to resize and crop photos is nice too. But Wallpaper Maker is MUCH cheaper then photoshop.
     
  5. mike208

    mike208 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    129
    9
    36
    So if i crop it to the correct size before putting it on the phone then i wont have to worry about the crop box thing?


    I dont understand why the pic would need to be wider as opposed to tall, the home screen is in portrait not landscape.
     
  6. BigHAZE

    BigHAZE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    195
    55
    53
  7. mike208

    mike208 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    129
    9
    36
    Oh yeah, I forgot about that. Thanks for explaining it. I may have to download an app to allow different wallpapers on each screen, would that allow me to use the taller pic and have them fit on each individual screen?

    I am trying to theme my phone around the ohio state buckeyes(don't hate, lol), I haven't really been able to find any good themes for them out there yet, so i was working on making my own.

    Thanks for the link, I will see if any of those strike me.
     
  8. mike208

    mike208 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    129
    9
    36
    It seems I may have done something to my phone while attempting to load one of the wallpapers. The last time I tried to use the buckeye one I was trying it didn't load that and instead defaulted to the multi colored HTC background you see in the ads for the phone. I just tried to change it to one of the other htc backgrounds and it still has that same multi colored one. What did I do?

    Nvm, somehow I fixed this.s It let me add my wallpaper. Well one of the default ones anyway.
     
  9. BigHAZE

    BigHAZE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    195
    55
    53
    I don't know what you might have done. I don't use an app to apply wallpaper, so maybe that had something to do with it. If it was a free app, try uninstalling it and then change the wallpaper manually by selecting it after putting it onto the SD card via USB cable.
     
  10. mike208

    mike208 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    129
    9
    36
    Hmmm, I also don't see wallpaper maker on the app store, lol. Its just not my day I guess.
     
  11. sagedil

    sagedil Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    796
    178
    93
    Laid off....sigh
    Raleigh, NC
    Has strange name in market... dodol custom wallpaper maker.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...