1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root PLZ HELP: Eris (2.1 leak) unable to launch web content from apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EnvyOnTheCoast, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. EnvyOnTheCoast

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    14
    4
    16
    EDIT: SORRY - I see a little blurb about it in the 2.1 leak info

    Hi everyone.

    I'm having a problem that I can't seem to find via searching the net. My Droid Eris with the 2.1 leak installed since it leaked won't properly launch weblinks when using an app. The examples I have are "Toshl" which is a personal finance app - when you register it takes you to their site, but everytime I try I get the same "Web page not available" dummy page the one with the little green android peeking from upside-down and says to check my connection, reload later, or check a cached copy of the page.

    I know my connection is fine - I'm on my own private secure wireless network at home. I figure I must have acidentally toggled or installed something to make this not work - but I can't think of what it was or find any settings that would do it.

    Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance for taking the time to look.

    - Matt
     

    Advertisement

  2. mobil3gen

    mobil3gen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    261
    19
    58
    Student, Wireless Sales
    Clarkston, WA
    What have you tried thus far? battery pull? *228 option 1 maybe? Re-install the rom?
     
  3. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    Have you thought about upgrading to the 2.1 v2 OTA instead? I read that fixed a lot of issues
     
  4. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Found a work around? Say more!
     
  5. Jayse

    Jayse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    120
    8
    36
    There is no workaround as of yet. It's just a problem with our current 2.1 leaks that we have to live with.
     
  6. rkymtnbum

    rkymtnbum Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    USN
    VA BEACH
    So this is an issue for everyone then? Lame sauce... Do you know if anyone is working on a fix for it?
     
  7. hybridowner

    hybridowner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    30
    4
    16
    So. Cal.
    This seems to be a persistent problem with the leaked 2.1. It seems to happen with apps that try to open a website while still in the app (i.e. they don't open a separate external browser). Some apps that I've experienced this with are Astrid trying to access the login page for Remember the Milk, and Huffington Post when trying to open videos or slide shows.
     
  8. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Wapedia is also broken but NPR News works.
     
  9. T2noob

    T2noob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    471
    98
    53
    Southern Californina
    Well this a problem even for us that are rooted Because I hadn't noticed it, but when I tried using the ups app all I got was This page could not be found But when I tried it from the browser it was there so it must be something on VZW end.
     
  10. LiverpoolsNo9

    LiverpoolsNo9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    The one thats the most annoying for me is the Bank of America app, which is handy to have.
     
  11. jessebwallace

    jessebwallace Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Did you ever figure out how to fix this? I am running Ivans and I have this problem.
     
  12. T2noob

    T2noob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    471
    98
    53
    Southern Californina
    Use another rom like plain jane and your problem should be solved.
     

Share This Page

Loading...