1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Poll: Do have have Froyo or are you still waiting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by snowmobile, Aug 2, 2010.

?

Do you have Froyo

  1. Yes, I bought a factory unbranded phone and received it OTA

    80 vote(s)
    38.6%
  2. Yes, I have taken action to debrand my phone in order to get it

    18 vote(s)
    8.7%
  3. No, but I plan to debrand my phone in order to get it quicker

    6 vote(s)
    2.9%
  4. No, I am waiting patiently for my network provider to release their version

    93 vote(s)
    44.9%
  5. No, the update is not available in my country yet.

    10 vote(s)
    4.8%
  1. snowmobile

    snowmobile Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    479
    92
    73
    With all this talk of Froyo it seems as if those who don't have it yet are in the minority. Is that really the case? I thought I would post a poll to find out.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Vicdude

    Vicdude Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    316
    19
    58
    Sales Manager
    Nottingham UK
    Just me then? lol :D
     
  3. gallagher79

    gallagher79 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    13
    1
    36
    I got mine through the carphone warehouse on orange and got the update last night. The apps to SD should hopefully be a godsend.
     
  4. Shallow_

    Shallow_ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    Just downloaded, waiting for reboot as I write :)
     
  5. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    Look at how many people are waiting! Booooo!!!
     
  6. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    782
    186
    93
    Moral of the story - Unlocked is always better. ;)
     
  7. Baz8755

    Baz8755 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    128
    7
    36
    Senior Analyst/Programmer
    South Coast UK
    Factory Unbranded, updated yesterday but wishing I'd waited for patch version
     
  8. shedboy79

    shedboy79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    88
    0
    35
    Perth, Scotland
    on o2 so could be waiting months :(
     
  9. albert_htc

    albert_htc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    215
    1
    36
    Are O2 phone branded ?
    Mine only had the splash screen.

    Can it manually be updated ?
     
  10. jefferinho

    jefferinho Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    im very happy with my phone as it is , and will patiently wait for orange to update me.
     
  11. apepper

    apepper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I have an unlocked, unbranded Desire but I'm yet to receive the update :thinking: - there's no option for that!
     
  12. Nathan Baxter

    Nathan Baxter Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    Benefit scrounger scum, apparently o.0
    Birmingham UK
    Happily waiting until (probably) September when T-mobile release it & everyone else here has solved any bugs :D
     
  13. thorgoth

    thorgoth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    39
    1
    16
    Greece
    well i can see why pps are going for branded devices cause it's more efficient for them to get....e.g desire is available in my country for 2-3 weeks now and costs 400-440 euros..i got mine from an online store like 2 months ago for 530 euros..that's 130-100 euros more but i am glad that i don't have to wait for any provider to cook their froyo version...
    so costs VS updates...costs rules :))
     
  14. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,939
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,939
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    Bought a factory unbranded phone.

    The best thing is, I didn't actually realise it was unbranded until after it turned up on my doorstep so it was an added bonus :D
     
  15. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    481
    87
    53
    standup comedian
    NL
    are you sure about that?

    first check this:

    menu > settings > about phone > software information

    then check this:

    menu > scenes

    if yoi have a carrier dedicated theme, you have a carried controlled firmware.
     
  16. kopite72

    kopite72 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    49
    6
    16
    I am still waiting for my Virgin Mobile to get the update, tempted to debrand it though but will wait another couple of weeks just in case
     
  17. apepper

    apepper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    When viewing software information, the menu button doesn't do anything.
     
  18. apepper

    apepper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Ah, I think I understand what you meant - if I press Menu from a home page, I get a Scenes option - Virgin Media is one of the options, but I assumed that's because I'm on a Virgin PAYG SIM. The phone is unlocked - it works with Vodaphone or Virgin SIMs. So it looks like I've got to wait for the Virgin update - I presume that's actually T-Mobile really.
     
  19. JsT

    JsT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    120
    3
    56
    I'm waiting on an update from my network as I'm on 3 and branded and dont fancy debranding. No idea how long I'll be waiting though!
     
  20. Daisai

    Daisai Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Waiting for the OTA update for asia, token! xD
     
  21. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada
    same here! But I'm canada (just have the unlocked one!) :)
     
  22. Qashqai

    Qashqai Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I'm so glad I updated to the latest version. I realy love this phone.
     
  23. Ghibli

    Ghibli Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Singapore
    Patiently waiting for HTC to release it in their home continent.:cool: Oh, the irony...
     
  24. knappster83

    knappster83 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    23
    2
    36
    I went on 3 but managed to get an unbranded phone. happy days! :)
     
  25. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,217
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1,217
    130
    143
    Denmark
    I voted "Yes, I bought a factory unbranded phone and received it OTA" because I bought a factory unbranded phone, but to be honest I had and have root, so instead of receiving it OTA (which still isn't out via my provider, apparently) I upgraded manually using Unrevoked and one of the rooted official roms.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...