1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Poor GPS signal on Galaxy S2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pete71, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Pete71

    Pete71 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    33
    3
    16
    UK
    The GPS signal on my Galaxy S2 seems to be very poor, and won't lock on to my location for navigation. Last week I used Google Navigation (or tried to) for a 6 mile trip, and I actually reached my location by the time the phone found it's position !

    Is anyone else having a similar problem with their Galaxy S2, and is there a fix for it ? My HTC Desire used to lock on to the satellites for navigation in seconds.

    My Firmware is : PDA:KE1 / PHONE:KE1 / CSC:KE2 (VOD)
     

    Advertisement

    aandy71 likes this.
  2. Pete71

    Pete71 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    33
    3
    16
    UK
  3. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    i would use Odin to flash a newer update.
    no GPS problems here and i'm running all KE4
     
  4. Pete71

    Pete71 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    33
    3
    16
    UK
    I have been thinking of doing that, but I don't want to void my Vodafone Warranty.
     
  5. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,491
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,491
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    why would you void it? you don't have to root your device to use Odin.
    i would just be sure to write down all of the versions you currently have in case something doesn't work out.

    also be sure you grab up the right stuff. there are different versions for different territories i believe.
     
  6. Pete71

    Pete71 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    33
    3
    16
    UK
    Has anyone with the same Vodafone firmware as me, used Odin to get KE7 firmware ?
     
  7. marc.knuckle

    marc.knuckle Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    44
    1
    16
    my vodafone firmware was the vodafone ke1. on the xda forums where i followed the manual firmware method with odin, they also have the stock vodafone firmware on there so i have downloaded and kept a copy of that just in case.

    my gps was poor on first startup but usually better after but not always, it still sometimes takes a fair while, that is even with ke7. indoors i have no chance but that is to be expected on most gps devices
     
  8. Miggy87

    Miggy87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Alkmaar (NL)
    Hi there!

    i'm also owning a SGS2 by Vodafone (in the Netherlands).

    and also I have problems with the GPS fix.

    It takes ages before it founds a signal, and sometimes it just won't find one.

    now and than it helps to restart the GPS settings on/off. But it's annoying.

    i do wonder if there will be a update to fix this, or some other settings to change to make it work properly :thinking:
     
  9. aandy71

    aandy71 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have the same problem, if I use waze it's pretty fast like with my old desire???
    Where is the problem? Hardware or software?
    thanks
    aandy
     
  10. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    update ur firmware. mine was pretty slow too. updated to KE7, now im getting a lock in 3-5 seconds all the time. and of course, if that was ur first time using GPS on the phone, it always takes a while, to get the first lock. after that, it should be much faster.. but use odin to flash KE7.. its super easy..
     
  11. hidehide

    hidehide Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    I'm using KF1. I can say that the GPS is far far worse than the iPhone..
    I can't get locked at my position when I was in indoor.. which render the "Check-In" function in facebook useless.. Sadly, I have no problem locating myself in indoor with an iPhone..
     
  12. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    well GPS doesnt really work when ur indoors, u get the combination of wifi location plus ur mobile network location when ur indoors.. still, my SGS2 works pretty well indoors too, gets a fairly accurate position in 5 seconds, n a pretty damn accurate position in 20 seconds.. indoors.. maybe this depends on ur wifi/network provider? not sure about this
     
  13. hidehide

    hidehide Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Yea, the iPhone isn't accurate when I'm at indoor.. but at least it can lock a position, whether accurate or slightly off..
    But on the SG2, it doesn't even lock any position and keep on searching or say location unavailable.. I'm on KF1...
     
  14. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    well mine does. im guessing it could be a firmware problem. my KE2 firmware took a while to get a lock even out on the street.. after KE7, maps was great to use. im not sure about KF1, ive only been reading about KE1/2/4/7/8 lol, dont know about the newer firmware
     
  15. aandy71

    aandy71 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I've tried all the firmware and it's always the same... SLOW!
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Time to first GPS fix: 10s

    Indoors (top-floor flat) running KE7.
     
  17. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    yeah i get a indoor fix in around 10 seconds max too.. but when there's no gps fix, my location can often be pretty inaccurate.. i guess this is due to the mobile network here n wat it tells the phone, n not a problem with the phone.. sometimes my location is more than a mile off. lol.
     
  18. androidexpat

    androidexpat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    197
    29
    43
    Would be nice to get some videos up on Youtube from those here experiencing GPS issues.
     
  19. Scainer

    Scainer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    38
    12
    18
    Maybe there are different issues being mixed....

    On first attempt with data off, the GPS can most of the time not even lock when seeing satellites.
    Toggling the GPS on / off seems to help find the lock of them metal floaters. 30- 60 seconds on avarage

    With a good data connection the A-GPS seems to find a lock within seconds.
     
  20. androidexpat

    androidexpat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    197
    29
    43

    How accurate do you find Google maps to be?? Mine on my Nexus S is usually a block away or on the other side of the street at minimum.
     
  21. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    if u get a GPS lock, on the street, google maps is accurate within 10 feet of my actual position
     
    androidexpat likes this.
  22. dg111

    dg111 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    After upgrading to KE7 baseband I've got a 5 days battery life (nice) and a TURTLE style fix GPS, if at all. Any recommendation before rooting ? Anything ? Help !
     
  23. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    dg111 likes this.
  24. dg111

    dg111 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Thank you. I've tried it already and it does not improve the performance. Ready to try anything since it is an (almost) perfect phone.:rolleyes:
     
  25. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,624
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,624
    5,837
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    How many satellites is GPS Status detecting?
     

Share This Page

Loading...