1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Poor Signal on Inc.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rez90, May 7, 2010.

  1. Rez90

    Rez90 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    So i'm typically at work or home. At home i usually have between 1-2 signal bars (3g) on my Inc while my wife's blackberry has 3-4 bars.

    and while at work, i have 0-1 bars while my buddy 10 feet away with a moto driod has 3 bars in 3g.

    Does the Inc inherently have poor signal strength? or do i have a dud?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jgigs

    jgigs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    67
    12
    18
    Not sure if it's a display glitch or not, cause even when I have 1 bar, my call quality is fantastic.
     
  3. TheLurg1687

    TheLurg1687 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    214
    13
    38
    EMT
    NH
    The Inc underestimates your call signal, as has been discussed before. It should be as fast as the DROID or bb. Hope this helps!
     
  4. rogers259

    rogers259 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    Well I'm going to stop by the VZW store this afternoon while out at lunch and see what the issue is. I'm only getting 1 bar and 3g keeps droping in and out sitting here at work. At my house its not registering any bars and its getting no 3g. WTF??? Now the phone isnt PUSHing gmail like it was when I first got the phone. 3 dropped calls last night at the house talking to a land line and I was just sitting in the family room.

    At the house I'm getting -106dBm at work its 89-96 dBm. Not sure whats going on but my wifes incredible is doing the same exact thing. Ran *228 cell up date to try and see if that did anything but its still just the same.

    I really don't care to go back to ATT but atleast I had service and got my e-mails.

    LOVE this phone...but the issues are a bit much.

    Matt
     
  5. sunthas

    sunthas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    141
    13
    38
    There was an article in Men's Health about how when the bars are lower on a cell phone, that the cell phone boosted the power on the signal. So bars indeed matter. Not that I believe the radiation is harmful... however, lower power usage would be better. So if the signal is being boosted by power to make up for the low bars that might explain some batter y problems people have been having?

    I also had a blackberry with max bars at home and 1-2 now with the DI.
     
  6. HTCIncredible

    HTCIncredible Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    66
    1
    16
    ;)
    Peach State!
    I notice the same thing. I only have 2 bars normally, rarely 3. Then my 3G icon...goes off and on...never really staying on. But, I haven't had any trouble with calling, or texting. Sometimes when I text It'll say unable to send but my moto droid did that sometimes as well. What does everyone thing I should do?
     
  7. jsward12

    jsward12 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    303
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Massachusetts
    Join the club. I might be going back to ATT where my Nexus One showed 4 bars compared to the 1 bar the Inc shows. Doesnt give me the warm and fuzzies.
     

Share This Page

Loading...