1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Poor Signal Strength & Dropped Calls - Galaxy Nexus

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JamesSJ, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. DoctorEyeSight

    DoctorEyeSight Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    302
    8
    36
    Hi,

    Verizon wireless will never give a new phone like that. Plus, I enjoy the GNexus. It has better software compared to S3.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Yeah I've asked for the SGS3 as a replacement for all the issues I've had with the Nexus and they said no way. One guy did it, but only after threatening to leave and being transferred to the retention department.

    No way I'm leaving Verizon.
     
  3. DoctorEyeSight

    DoctorEyeSight Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    302
    8
    36
    Hi,

    Well, what can VZW do? Give a brand new in the box GNexus in replacement of used one? I have read they have before, like 3 of them to the customers.
     
  4. JamesSJ

    JamesSJ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    131
    13
    38
    SC
    Ask them for a RAZR Maxx.
     
  5. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,106
    416
    273
    TN
    Never say never. And there are many plusses to the SGS3.
     
  6. DoctorEyeSight

    DoctorEyeSight Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    302
    8
    36
    Hi,

    If the SGS3 receives a stable Jelly Bean OS, then I will say it's very good. But I do not want to go back to ICS. I am used to buttery smooth.

    Plus, I bet that phone breaks easily compared to the GNexus because GNexus is curvy.
     
  7. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Well rather than play the roulette and try for another replacement phone, I am sending mine in for warranty. Really not crazy about this option because:

    1) I'll have to use an old Droid in the meantime (could take 2 weeks)
    2) Samsung isn't responsible for any damages during shipping. UPS could drop this into a lake and I'll be out of a phone.

    But the Tech Support guy said that they'd for sure send it back in working order.
    This should be interesting.
     
  8. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    62
    78
    Male
    This is about the VZW version of the phone. I've been losing service for 30 - 60 seconds several times a day ever since around the time that 4G was turned on in my area. The signal bar will go to a small x (I'm attaching a screenshot). When it gets service again within a minute, it goes directly to 3 or 4 bars. So it's not like I'm on a fringe area.

    But that was also around the time that the phone got the most recent update, I think (I'm running stock). My sister has an iPhone and lives right about where I do. She says that her phone is doing the same as mine. I tried to weed out whether or not it could be a different issue that she has, but it sounds the same.

    So I think it's probably an issue with the towers on this side of town, but I haven't heard widespread complaints from friends and family. It doesn't just happen at my house. From specific times I remember being on the road and it happening (I listen to online radio, so I know almost immediately), it was two different locations that are 3 miles apart and probably 1 or 2 miles from my house.

    I had never had this issue before it started several weeks ago. I did once have the issue where bars would go gray and I couldn't use data, but phone calls still worked then. But with this, I've got no data or phone calls. I did try switching off 4G, but it still happened.

    So does this sound like issues that other people have had with the phone? If so, would rooting and ROM'ing with updated radios help? Or do you think I'm right that it's local tower issues??

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. JamesSJ

    JamesSJ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    131
    13
    38
    SC
    I have seen more signal problems with this phone than any other. It seems to just have weak radios. All of my problems went away with the RAZR Maxx. Plus the Maxx has such a huge battery.
     
  10. VolsMcFalls

    VolsMcFalls Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    193
    5
    36
    I'm telling you, it's not the towers. It's your hardware.

    I'd be willing to bet lunch on you being on a version .10 phone.

    Go to Settings > About Phone and see what the Baseband says. I bet it's I515.10...
     
  11. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,106
    416
    273
    TN
    so, everyone should update to the latest radios and see if that helps

    they were just released on rootzwiki from VZW this morning
     
  12. pwrmedia

    pwrmedia Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    88
    74
    33
  13. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    62
    78
    Male
    The battery life and signal strength sound great, but I really like this phone as a whole, so I'm not going to give it up until it's on its last shred of life. lol.


    Looks like it's a .09-- here's the full thing

    I515.09 V.FC04 / I515.FC05

    Sounds like that is slightly earlier than what you were thinking. Does that still fit in what you were thinking? I won't hold you to lunch either way. lol.

    The weirdest part, though, is that it's never happened to me like this before a several weeks ago (a couple months, I guess). And I've had the phone since its release.

    That would be great. Think it'll work for my issue?

    I won't ask for a full rundown here-- that's to be asked about and researched elsewhere. But to install new radios like this, I'll have to go through all the prerequisites for installing a ROM, right? And my data will be wiped any way, right? So I'm thinking if I do this, I might as well go with a Jelly Bean ROM.

    Thanks.
     
  14. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    946
    179
    103
    Male
    Home
    just install the zip with clockwork. no need to wipe anything. these new radios fixed my 4g dropped calls and data. now i can actually use 4g
     
  15. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    62
    78
    Male
    I can install the zip with the new radios using clockwork without being rooted? I was under the impression that rooting wiped all your data.

    Sorry, I'm not going to bog down the thread with questions that I know are better served in other threads. I just wanted to check as to these specific circumstances. :)
     
  16. VolsMcFalls

    VolsMcFalls Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    193
    5
    36
    You, sir, are the first person I've encountered with a .09 version who has the dropped data issue. I'm sure they exist, but they're rare. I even posted a poll on XDA asking the question if people have the problem and what version they have. I have yet to see anyone answer that they have a .09 with the issue.

    Now I have to come up with a new theory...:D

    BTW, try the new radios. I tried them yesterday and it fixed the issue for me. No more dropped data!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...