1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support POP 3 Email Outgoing Server (New to Verizon)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by burban, Mar 21, 2011.

1. burban

burban Newbie
    None

Mar 20, 2011
    Hey all,

I am new to Verizon from ATT which I have been with for over 15 years until last Thursday. My question is regarding POP 3 email. ATT has a outgoing mail server (CWMX.Com) that I use to set up my account with all my ingcoming mail server information.

Does Verizon have a universal outgoing mail server that a wireless user can use for an outgoing mail server? My DSL outgoing mail server (swbell.net) won't work over ATT or Verizons network so I have no way to send emails and I haven't been able to find a universal outgoing mail server for Verizon.

Thanks for your help!

Advertisement

2. 20phileagles

20phileagles Newbie
    None

Jul 8, 2010
    Incoming. Verizon. Net
    Outgoing. Verizon. Net
    I had a hard time getting that right also.

3. TomXP411

TomXP411 Member
    None

Jun 23, 2010
    20phileagles: If he's pulling his Cox e-mail, the incoming won't be Verizon.net. It's also possible that his outgoing won't work either, if Verizon is validating the return address.

burban: My suggestion would be to start using your gmail account. You created one when you set up your phone for the first time.

Using the gmail.com web site from a computer, set it up to retrieve your mail from Cox via POP3. (You can also add a cox return address, but there's a reason not to - I'll get to that in a moment.)

After that, people can e-mail you on the Cox domain or the gmail domain, but when people hit "reply", it will go straight to gmail. Now, start giving out your gmail address, rather than your Cox one.