1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Pop-up ads: Feedback needed!

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box & Feedback' started by Phases, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    8,998
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    8,998
    20,303
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I need know how the pop-up ads are functioning for everyone - from now forward. We're told a fix should be in place now for the excessive displaying.

    You will still see the ad. This isn't going to change, I've voiced all I can voice on that - but the fact that it has been showing so, so much is something Rob will (and has) take to the ad agency. They worked on it today and now want to know how things are.

    I'm talking about the popup with "This ad is brought to you by Phandroid" at the top that covers the middle of the screen and makes mobile use killer.

    It is supposed to show up every so often. But certainly not multiple times a visit/session or every other page load (which was the case for many earlier this week). So, please be on the lookout the next couple days and let reply here if you could and let me know. I'm to report back Sunday night with results.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mada

    Mada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    590
    130
    113
    School
    Alabama
    Well so far I've made it to this thread from home page and no pop up yet. Ill browse around and see how many I get.

    Edit 1: Went to my profile, got it... hit the back button, got it... hit refresh and got it for the third time

    Edit 2: Well I just used it for about 10 minutes on the broswer on my phone. Got the ad three times in a row as stated above. Now I'll pay attention to how much I get on on the computer.
     
  3. dautley

    dautley Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,823
    502
    253
    Dickson, TN.
    I signed with Android 2.2.2 stock browser (something I hardly ever do because of the "This ad is brought to you by Phandroid" popup box) and navigated around to several diffrent pages and didn't see the popup once. As far as browsers on windows 7 goes, IDK because I use a add blocker anyway. To be honest if Phandroid were to get around add blocking programs, I would probably just drop my Premium subscription. I know those adds pay the bills but they tend to tick users off too. (Sorry for the rant Phases and thanks for all you do!)
     
  4. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Just tested on both my 3D and Galaxy Tab (stock browser on both). On both, I got the "This ad is brought to you..." pop-up when first coming to AF. Then I navigated to multiple sub-forums and individual threads, then back to the homepage, and never saw it again. :)

    Hooray! While of course I'd rather not see it at all, this is a HUGE improvement over how it was.

    Thank you Phases for all you've done regarding this issue.
     
  5. galfert

    galfert Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    13
    3
    16
    IT Consultant
    Orlando, FL
    My problem is that I can't close the ad on my mobile phone. The x to close the ad is too small for a mobile touch screen. the only way around it that I have found is to go back and forth again, and it makes it annoy to sit there and hope that the ad doesn't come back.
     
  6. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    8,998
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    8,998
    20,303
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I have got the add several times in the past hour and a half here and on Phandroid. On page refreshes, and new loads.

    I've seen it four times in 1.5 hours, on one browser.

    This is too much. But I'll keep monitoring and see how it goes through Sunday.
     
  7. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    943
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    943
    1,025
    523
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    My first 4 clicks through Phandroid/AF I saw the popup 3 times.

    Since then (30 min or so) I got the popup 3-4 more times, one being right after I posted a thread. :thinking:

    Testing on my mobile phone, 2 out of 4 mobile browsers I tested can not close the ad.
     
    dautley and NightAngel79 like this.
  8. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    8,998
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    8,998
    20,303
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    3 more since posting this morning. They have all been after being idle for a few on several tabs and coming back in through a link (private message email) that opened a new tab.
     
    dautley likes this.
  9. galfert

    galfert Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    13
    3
    16
    IT Consultant
    Orlando, FL
    So we have two problems that need fixed.

    1) Too frequent
    2) Can't close ad on mobile browser (x is too small)
     
  10. billbunton

    billbunton Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    40
    1
    16
    Software Engineer
    Austin, TX
    I hit the main forum page and got it. I then clicked on the MoPho forum and got it. Nothing since, but I haven't clicked anything else yet...
     
  11. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    It seems to be only occurring on my GT and X2, not my computers running Firefox with Ad-block +.

    I've found that a pinch-zoom to shrink gives me access to the off-page "X" at the top right, so I can removed it.

    It'll often return as soon as I go to the next page, but not always.
     
  12. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Hmmm... Tested again today. Got the pop-up 3 times in about 10 minutes of general browsing. Looks like I was a little premature with my "hooray" above. :(
     
  13. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    8,998
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    8,998
    20,303
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I've got it 4 more times since my last post, and all were after being idle a bit. I don't seem to get it browsing around, I get it when I come or refresh after being on other tabs a while.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I'm seeing much the same as you Phases - if you let it sit there for a while (it seems under 5 minutes but I may be off on the timing) then it throws one at you.

    one ting though - I haven't seen if it throws one at you if you're idle while editing / composing a post / reply.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  15. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    I get them a lot too.
     
  16. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    8,998
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    8,998
    20,303
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    Five since my last post.
     
  17. Mada

    Mada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    590
    130
    113
    School
    Alabama
    Got none since I've been on the computer after school today. Google chrome btw, if it matters.

    Boat Browser Mini for the phone.
     
  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I'm installing Fennec nightly here in a bit. See if it makes a difference on the mobile page
     
  19. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    8,998
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    8,998
    20,303
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I've been off for a bit but since my last post I've seen 2.
     
  20. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I tend to go a lot of places so I am not sure how many page loads it takes for me but I am seeing it multiple times an hour (8-10). For me it is more of a mild annoyance that I can deal with. I only use the app on my phone now because the ad in question make the site to much of a PITA to deal with in the browser
     
  21. Mada

    Mada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    590
    130
    113
    School
    Alabama
    I'm getting them whenever I first open the site after being closed. Happened twice now.
     
  22. DeepEmissions

    DeepEmissions Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    69
    11
    38
    Male
    I.T. Technician for Seminole Casino Brighton
    Okeechobee, FL
    When I first logged in (including the one I got before I logged in) I had 4 of the ad that blocks the entire screen. But I have been logged in for over an hour and not another one yet.

    I wonder if it's a Cookie issue...


    EDIT: Before the end of the night last night I had it appear 10 times. it seems that when you are idle for more that about 10 minutes or so, it refreshes the ad to re appear again 3-5 times every time you click on a link within AF.
     
  23. mark5019

    mark5019 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    54
    4
    36
    i come in with my mobile that ad bytes every time i have to click the x
     
  24. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    8,998
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    8,998
    20,303
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I've been mobile an hour or so and every time I come check in I get the ad, breaks on clicking the x..
     
  25. GamerCore

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #263
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Pop-up ad shows up EVERY SINGLE PAGE LOAD when I use my phone to visit the site.

    I don't have the problem others do with closing it (or hitting the dodgey "X") cuz my screen resolution is qHD.

    I know when I was on 800x480, it was impossible to hit the "X" cuz it would move off the screen..
     

Share This Page

Loading...