1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Porting ClockWorkMod to the Kyocera Rise

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cooldudezach, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada
    why yes I do still have access to fastboot... and I'm not done messing arround... thats why i got the phone... :p... you where asking for the recovery i made... i changed the partitons to accommodate the c5156.. but I'm just about to pack some images and i'll make one for you base on the c5155... what is in the /misc partition?... in the stock recovery i noticed that there was always a mount issue with that parttion on both our devices and i fixed it in the last recovery i made.. i kinda wonder if its not supposed to be mounted... what do you guys think? did you run hex editor on mmcblk0p17?
     

    Advertisement

  2. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada
    I'm gonna test out a theory i have to get you guys in fastboot... you guys can push a "boot" image with adb right? and I think that the device can be booted into an altered recovery image with debug/adb and from there you can go into fastboot using adb... thats about the last found out before my phone crashed... once in fastboot you could then restore your boot image and you yould still be in fastboot no harm done... It's risky bisyness but i think it might work...


    EDIT: DON'T DO THIS IT DOESN'T WORK!
     
  3. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Awesome! SO, mmcblk0p17 is /misc? I'll take another look into it.

    EDIT:
    mmcblk0p17 is ext4 formatted, so I just mounted it. It's got 2 files(kcjprop_daemon, libkcjprop_jni.so) and a folder(rw) with a ton of config files.
     
    smartmanvartan likes this.
  4. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    How would we boot into the altered recovery image? Everything I've done so far failed. Hopefully you have more success.
     
  5. Kritter888

    Kritter888 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012

    Dec 9, 2012
    292
    57
    53
    Male
    Just a Small Pea
    Florida
    Lil off topic but wanted too share this with you guys if it helps i bought the paid version & it works well with our phones from what i can see & has a 24hour refund window vs the googles 15min one, but figured maybe this will help you guys show & communicate better with each other, its like a screen capture app or holding down & power at same time only it records video of what ur doing too either email or youtube for people who need too see whats done rather then explaining in words so much, the process of what ur doing on phone,also good for showing ur highscores on a game or whatever else j can think of useing a root video phone for https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ms.screencastfree
     
  6. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada
    booted into clockwork with the fastboot boot command
     
  7. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    :D Pics or it didn't happen. lol So, you have clockwork, now share it with the rest of us!

    EDIT:
    Did you try any of the commands in clockwork?
     
  8. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada
  9. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    well, fastboot boot still allows you to use it like normal, you just have to be more careful. Interesting that it's not mounting the /cache partition. Maybe you shouldn't mess with the options yet haha.

    Now I want to get a PM Rise to play with XD
     
  10. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada

    Oddly enough that is the unaltered recovery that I put thru the builder...I'll tweak it tomorrow.... but when I flash thru fastboot, it's a no go... but if I boot it with fastboot it works... anyways I'm out...good night y'all
     
  11. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    Well, I tried some more unpacking/repacking. No go still for me. So, even if we have fastboot, if the bootloader is still blocking the images on the partition, are we still SOL?

    EDIT: Have you tried zeroing out the recovery partition, then rebooting to recovery? It's a common way to get into fastboot, but it doesn't work on the c5155.

    EDIT2: I noticed something while poking at the bootloader in the hex editor. "androidboot.authorized_kernel=true" what do you see if you issue the command "kernel"? I wonder if this is our problem? No clue.

    EDIT3: Scratch the "kernel" command. I believe it's just info from "oem device-info". What does that give you in fastboot?
     
  12. smartmanvartan

    smartmanvartan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    1,372
    632
    223
    Male
    Business owner
    Montreal, Canada
    http://www.4shared.com/photo/2ejYq9DJ/IMG_20130118_174245.html

    so i screwed up my rise again... no pain no gain eh!... so i can confirm that the bootloader blocks both boot and recovery... I was testing my cwm and it was perfect... i figured since i was using the fastboot boot command it was working great so i said to myself ill flash it to boot and then ill be able to boot to bootloader mode with the adb reboot bootloader command since it was working in cwm when i was in there... so now i can boot into my stock recovery but i cant boot the device... but I'll post up the cwm for your phone and mine tommorw... unlocking the boot loader is on you... i'm not gonna buy a new one and i wont be able to bring it back again(it was pushing it the first time)...
     
  13. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Your sacrifice is appreciated. A moment of silence for the brave Rise who gave it all in the name of discovery.
     
  14. downthemachine

    downthemachine Developer Incognito
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    2,940
    1,727
    333
    Mobile Electronics Installer/Shop Manager
    Minnesota
    Now, just to reiterate, the bootloader is locked, mmcblk0 is signed and locked, which contains all partitions. The only way to get past this is to convince kyocera that it is in their best interest to unlock the bootloader, like how HTC has. We know our warrenty is void. We know we have the potential to brick our phones. But we don't need to be locked in. :)
     
  15. Alastor10009

    Alastor10009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    10
    1
    16
    Hey you guys I been sick for a while someone fill me in what's.going on with the kyocera rise? I had some ideas on unlocking the bootloader and giving acces to demantle the rom and play around with it. I was thinking of how about making something to force the phone into bootloader mode.? and what's up with the devloper Id on the phone where it says developer options does this have anything to do with anything?.
     
  16. PattyBear9210

    PattyBear9210 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012

    Dec 15, 2012
    66
    12
    18
    Male
    crimper cutter boxer
    Minnesota
    Sounds like a plan bro and yes they doo so anyone else who is going to email them bring up HTC
     
  17. monsterjamp

    monsterjamp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    Phone Bricker
    Chicago
    I'm new to Android jailbreaking and etc. Is the bootloader a custom recovery menu (Except with different buttons)? Also why doesn't flashing work?
     
  18. deadcereal

    deadcereal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    17
    12
    18
    AZ
    Basically, the bootloader is the program that loads the recovery or the android os. Flashing does not work because Kyocera wants it to not work. The bootloader will only load special files that are prepared by kyocera and so far no one has found a (reliable or effective) way to spoof this.
     
    monsterjamp likes this.
  19. monsterjamp

    monsterjamp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    Phone Bricker
    Chicago
    Interesting... This is the first time I have ever heard of something like this, it's a weird situation because the phone is rooted yet Kyocera has managed to block us from flashing the recovery menu.
     
  20. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Rooting has to do with the running system. It's possible to lock down that system too but I'm glad they didn't. The bootloader is lower level, it checks a signature on the recovery and boot partition and if that signature fails it won't boot them.
     
  21. K Rize

    K Rize Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #254
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012

    Dec 21, 2012
    512
    215
    93
    Male
    New Jersey
    Is it possible to add or copy the new recovery files, to the old one, as not to interrupt the verification process and still be signed or try building the the new on top of the old.
    Was also wondering if we/or I could get the 4.0.4 update pushed to our/my phone, and pull the update file would that be helpful?
    Just wondering becuz it shouldn't be hard to have it pushed. Just need maybe an error code about system update failed, so they can maybe repush it
    Just a though
    And gud work so far guys, I appreciate the effort
    it's only a matter of time, well get it
    If man made it, man can break it, and rebuild it
     
  22. DMedina559

    DMedina559 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #299
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    431
    178
    78
    Male
    Android Enthusiast
    California
    What if we convince Kyocera to push a Jellybean (4.1/4.2) update to our phones. Then we can steal the update and see how the phone flashes updates....
    Just a thought.
     
  23. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    While the thought is great, I'm not sure how well our phones would handle JB, especially since the Rise seems to have issues with ICS as it is. A better option would be to get them to release an update that fixes all of the issues we keep having, and then steal it.
     
  24. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    I've tried to hotswap the recovery images, it doesn't work no matter what I try. I'm not sure how you'd get an update if they aren't actively pushing it.
     
  25. cooldudezach

    cooldudezach Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #252
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    556
    195
    93
    Male
    I think after I get my tax return (so I have some money to burn) I'm gonna try to get the c5156 bootloader onto the c5155. If we can even get clockwork running part time, at least we can make an official nandroid. Until then, I'm not going to be crazy flashing much. I'm also busy with school, so I need to stop having all this fun. :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...