1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Possible bootloader unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by donjuro, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    He said he'd respond in an hour, unfortunately it's been well over that. Hopefully he knows how to unbrick, or can even unbrick.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #293
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    Yah well I wanna try again now I know to type it all as 1 line! I'm just hesitant now cuz he hasn't gotten back!
     
  3. Saxön

    Saxön Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    172
    68
    53
    Yeah, I could see a lapse in posting due to excitement and wanting get CWM installed/working, but it's been too long for that :(

    Maybe bg4m3r could refine the recovery steps he went through a little so it is within a single post to help pwner5889 to hopefully recover if indeed he is jacked.
     
  4. pwner5889

    pwner5889 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    41
    14
    18
    Good news and bad news. I had restarted my device and it will not boot. However, when I plug it into my PC, it had shown up as a removable disk. I had pulled some files off of that and I think it has to do with the bootloader. I Will upload them in a second after I download the LG Flash Tool. There were also two folders in the drive called verinfo and image that has a bunch of files related to the bootloader. I will upload them ASAP.
     
    mjhealy1978 and ZAXIS like this.
  5. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #293
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    So it didn't work so I should delete the files!
     
  6. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    When you say it did not boot, what exactly happened? What screen did it show? Did it have any text?
     
  7. pwner5889

    pwner5889 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    41
    14
    18
    It's not showing any screen at all other than when I go and plug the cable in without the battery.
     
  8. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,121
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    [quote="Sax
     
  9. pwner5889

    pwner5889 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    41
    14
    18
    I'm kind of without a phone atm.... :-/ I'm using a friends wifi hotspot and he doesn't have a whole lot of bandwidth....
     
  10. Saxön

    Saxön Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    172
    68
    53
    Bummer about the bandwidth, wish we could look at those files.

    Library, taco hell have free WiFi if you have either nearby, anyway to use that to upload?
     
  11. pwner5889

    pwner5889 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    41
    14
    18
    [quote="Sax
     
  12. Bad_MOFO_33

    Bad_MOFO_33 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014

    Jul 11, 2014
    419
    967
    148
    Male
    Hudson Valley, NY
    Same situation here. Installing Ubuntu VM img now to try and unbrick, will post results later or tommorrow. These are the files loaded when usb is plugged in
    https://www.mediafire.com/?33qtzbzld8a7g8d
     
  13. pwner5889

    pwner5889 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    41
    14
    18
    I was JUST about to upload them now.... :-/ If you find a way how to unbrick that would be awesome! Also, if windows doesn't recognize the phone, then there would be no way for the VM to see it either.
     
  14. Bad_MOFO_33

    Bad_MOFO_33 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014

    Jul 11, 2014
    419
    967
    148
    Male
    Hudson Valley, NY
  15. pwner5889

    pwner5889 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    41
    14
    18
  16. Bad_MOFO_33

    Bad_MOFO_33 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014

    Jul 11, 2014
    419
    967
    148
    Male
    Hudson Valley, NY
    yeah the tutorial is for the G2, i have volt nandroid img files from my backup if anyone needs em
     
  17. pwner5889

    pwner5889 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    41
    14
    18
  18. Bad_MOFO_33

    Bad_MOFO_33 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014

    Jul 11, 2014
    419
    967
    148
    Male
    Hudson Valley, NY
    as of now, NO. but not giving up still a few things to try
     
  19. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    I can't download it, every time I tap download it just reloads the page.
     
  20. asmugone

    asmugone Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014

    Jun 25, 2014
    13
    28
    23
    Male
    varies based on mood
    socal
    works like a beast!

    The secret is to use flashify with busybox x installed. That new boot image slid right in like a champ!

    Been playing around with build.prop and intentionally deleting things from system stock apps just trying to make it brick.

    It is giving me exactly zero hate!

    Dont know where that file came from but bravo sir!

    Now starting to work on sim unlock. I dont code recoveries.
     
  21. Gendo420

    Gendo420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    460
    144
    68
    Male
    New Orleans
    You unlocked or replaced the bootloader or you unbricked your phone?
     
    mjhealy1978 likes this.
  22. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    But this is aboot.bin not boot.bin
    Can you access fastboot?
    And why would you sim unlock if this phone is cdma? There is no sim.
     
    mjhealy1978 likes this.
  23. marcukial

    marcukial Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 19, 2014

    May 19, 2014
    10
    6
    16
    Has anyone else tried flashify?is busybox x a must or will busybox pro work as well?did asmugone use the aboot.bin in the original post?did the file unlock the bootloader?thanks to everyone involved.
     
    mjhealy1978 likes this.
  24. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #293
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    I was wondering the same things! I've used flashify on a lg opimus f3 from virgin & it worked perfect flashing a recovery so I'd imagine our Volts would take to it fine but a lil more info is needed so please & thank u 2 all.
     
  25. Dslack420

    Dslack420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012

    Dec 5, 2012
    308
    117
    68
    Male
    troy,ohio
    They do have sim cards for the 4g data i do believe all 4g cdma phones have one
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...