1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Possible BRICK PLEASE HELP!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mikel1982, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    I tried to load up umph kernal on my triumph now just the motorola logo comes on & thats it I cant get into boot loader mode or download mode & it keeps trying too boot up but screen goes blank. Please tell me there is help
     

    Advertisement

  2. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    unplug any cables from the MT (usb, micro HDMI, headphone, etc.) then pull the battery for 30-60 secs then put the battery in and try booting into recovery (both volume buttons +power), or bootloader (volume down + power). After trying post back her and we will go from there :).
     
  3. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    I think I bricked my phone I tried loading umph kernel on it and now just the motorola logo comes on and keeps trying to reboot & i cannot get it into bootloader mode or recovery. The phone was rooted & had clockwork mod on it. is it fixalbe
     
  4. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I assume you have ClockworkMod(CWM) Recovery on your phone?

    If so, boot into CWM by holding down the Power, Volume Up, and Volume Down simultaneously until the phone vibrates. Then you can either restore a nandroid backup which I hope you made, but if not you can flash the Complete Stock Triumph ROM from here: http://androidforums.com/triumph-all-things-root/413093-rom-bone-stock-stock-deodex-roms-triumph-now-resets-splash-img.html That should get you sorted. If you did not make a nandroid, I suggest you do so so you have something to fall back on if you run into issues again. :)

    If you don't then you need to have CWM to install the kernel (I would recommend a different stock kernel since Umph hasn't been maintained for a long while now). You can find instructions on that here: http://androidforums.com/triumph-all-things-root/445483-guide-installing-cwm-custom-rom-motorola-triumph.html


    Marc ninja'd me, so I will leave it to him....
     
  5. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    what you are describing is a bootloop which happens with a bad flash it's nothing major as long as you can fully power down the phone by pulling the battery for 30+ secs like I said before. After that you should be able to get into recovery and the bootloader fine.
     
  6. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    I still cant get to boot into recovery after removing the battery
    the logo is just stuck on there
     
  7. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    did you unplug the usb cable if you had it unplugged? If not unplug then try again.
     
  8. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    awesome got into recovery

    No nandriod I did have titanium on the phone

    Its in recovery, could you all walk me through this if you dont mind I was totally freaking out!!!
     
  9. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    do you have any custom roms on your sdcard? Or the flashable stock recovery? If not you are going to need a card reader or another phone that could be used to connect the sdcard to a computer so you can put either a rom or the stock recovery on it. Then you will be able to flash it and boot into the phone.
     
  10. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    no roms or back ups can I just "wipe Data factory reset" or what else could I do my brother has a triumph also
     
  11. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Download the stock ROM I linked in my previous post using your brothers phone. put that sd card in yours and flash that zip in recovery.
     
  12. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    will I have to reactivate my phone?
     
  13. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    wipe data/ factory reset will completely wipe the flash memory including the rom so it won't help. What you can do is put this: Stock_ROM_SplashImage_b_randon14.zip on your sdcard through your brothers MT connected to a computer and once that is tranfered put the sdcard back in your MT select the wipe data/ factory reset option and then go to "choose zip to install" and choose that zip that you put on your sdcard and flash it. Then you can reboot and it should boot up :)


    Shouldn't have to
     
  14. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    I just go to "install zip from sd card" in the cwm menu and that is the new rom zip file right?
     
  15. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    go to it and you will have to navigate to the new rom (using the volume keys and it should be named Stock_ROM_SplashImage_b_randon14.zip) then select it (using the menu key) then confirm the same way
     
  16. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    I have an old formated SD card that came in this phone originally before I upgraded it to a 4gb
     
  17. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    when I choose the "wipe data/factory" reset option it asks me to "Confirm wipe of all user data (THIS CAN NOT BE DONE). I have a lot of "no" choices and "1 yes delete all user data option" what do I do??
     
  18. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    select yes.
     
  19. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    wiping data complete
     
  20. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    whats my next step?
     
  21. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Install zip form SD card. Then you have to pick the ROM file you downloaded.
     
  22. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    install from sd card complete, Reboot now?
     
  23. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
  24. mikel1982

    mikel1982 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    THank you for all of your help you save my life Thank you so much I am trying to learn all this stuff Thank you !!
     
  25. Dobstyle

    Dobstyle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    Cubicle Monkey
    Omaha
    Seeing this kind of play by play help is one of the reasons I joined the forum. I dig the teamwork :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...