1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Possible to connect a hotspot created by my laptop from my Android Phone?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by erogol, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. erogol

    erogol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012

    Dec 12, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I am using ubuntu and Galaxy s2. I wanna connect to hotspot that I created by my laptop but android phone does not see the hotspot. Is there any tool or trick to make my galaxy viable to access to hotspot I created?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Stigy

    Stigy Some say...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,100
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    4,100
    3,023
    413
    Male
    Hello erogol and welcome to Android Forums!

    Do you know if any other device (iPod, iPhone, another laptop) can see the hotspot created by your laptop?

    Let's see if we can figure out if its an Android issue or something on the laptop end.
     
  3. erogol

    erogol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012

    Dec 12, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks... Yes my i touch works well .
     
  4. Stigy

    Stigy Some say...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,100
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    4,100
    3,023
    413
    Male
    Do you see the WiFi network on your Android device and can't connect to the internet? Or does your phone not see the WiFi network at all?
     
  5. erogol

    erogol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012

    Dec 12, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I cannot see at all :(
     
  6. Stigy

    Stigy Some say...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,100
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    4,100
    3,023
    413
    Male
    And I assume your Android device has no problem seeing any other Wireless Network, correct?
     
  7. rohitdua

    rohitdua Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    2
    1
    16
    i can see wifi network on my phone created on my laptop but my phone(or any other phone) does not connect. it keeps showing connecting.... please help
     
  8. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
  9. rohitdua

    rohitdua Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    2
    1
    16
    the link explains how to create infrastructure mode that is same as what i did using command prompt.
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  10. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Well, then I'm stumped. That was my one guess :(
     
  11. Pugs1957

    Pugs1957 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Try rebooting your router. What encryyption are you using? Does your device support it ?
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...