1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Possible to have two SIM cards with the same number?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Androidcurious, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. Androidcurious

    Androidcurious Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    324
    111
    78
    So here's my issue: I need to carry an iPhone for work, but want to keep an Android as my personal. Of course even when it comes to SIM cards Apple has to be a pita, as the 5 uses a nano sim. Every other phone uses micro sim.

    So...any way to attach the same phone number to two sim? Or are there any Android phones for AT&T that use the nano sim?

    Thanks, guys.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,855
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,855
    12,809
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Unfortunately I think the iPhone 5 is currently the only nano SIM handset, and it is absolutely not possible to have 2 active SIMs for the same number.

    What I don't know is whether anyone makes nano SIM adapters yet. Micro SIM adapters appeared really quickly, so it's possible, but I don't know.
     
  3. Androidcurious

    Androidcurious Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    324
    111
    78
    I looked into that. They are out there but I've seen a few reviews that said the nano got stuck in the phone and bricked it. So perhaps it's too early in the process or it's just a bad idea.

    Thanks for the feedback, not what I wanted to hear but I appreciate it all the same.
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,869
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,869
    4,567
    1,108
    Male
    Getting the same number on two SIMs could be difficult, and its a network carrier thing. You could just use a different number for each phone and depending on who you're giving it to, you give different numbers.
     
  5. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    Ask your carrier :)

    With T-Mobile I've two SIMs with the same phone number and on the same data plan, SIM for my HTC Sensation and microSIM for my HTC One X.

    Make and take calls on both phones, only for SMS I've to choose one of them.

    Harry
     
    Crashdamage, Dieben and Hadron like this.
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,855
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,855
    12,809
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Wow, I thought that was absolutely forbidden! Thanks for that info.
     
  7. Dieben

    Dieben Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    258
    41
    43
    That's surprising! I too thought that was strictly forbidden.

    What happens to an incoming call if both phones are turned on simultaneously? Do both phones ring or only one of them?

    What happens if both phones are turned on simultaneously but they are in different locations connected to different towers? It doesn't seem like the phone switching system could handle that.

    Are you only allowed to turn one phone at at a time?
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,081
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,081
    27,815
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    There are nano sim adapters, but I don't know that I'd want to make a practice of swapping sims daily. One, it's a PITA, plus these adapters have a potential for damaging the pins if they aren't inserted just right. Doing this daily is asking for trouble.

    I'd ask AT&T, but i don't know that they'd provision two sims for the same number.
     
  9. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    No, both phones act on there own.
    When I get a call, each phone rings and the un-answered phone will put the call in its call list.

    Only SMS/MMS got a restriction, I have to preselect the phone for it.
    But the switching is easy and can be made on both phones, say that which I'm actually using.

    Harry
     
    Dieben likes this.
  10. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,081
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,081
    27,815
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Waddayaknow ... a cellular party line. :D
     
    Hadron and Harry2 like this.
  12. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    Okay, I haven't read their "How to Use", sorry ;)

    It hasn't anything to do with T-Mobile's multiSIM cards.

    Harry
     
  13. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,836
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,836
    924
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    I believe Google voice allows you to forward to multiple phones effectively giving you what you're looking for, I think.
     
  14. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,849
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,849
    873
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    i thought having two phones/SIMs with the same number was constituted as 'cloning' and illegal?
     
  15. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    I believe I've heard of this on non American carriers. Hell, it's hard enough to get a tablet to make calls or to get a data only phone plan here.
     
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,081
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,081
    27,815
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Doing it yourself is illegal (laws vary by jurisdiction), but if the carrier permits it and is willing to provision two sims for the same number, it's okay.
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,855
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,855
    12,809
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You're showing your age there - and I'm showing mine by knowing what those were ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...