1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Possible to install a .apk using Titanium Backup??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Doyouwantaspoo, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. Doyouwantaspoo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    I have my phone rooted with Shabbymod, and want to install an app I downloaded on my PC, RedLaser. It's a UPC scanner that doesn't require auto-focus. I have Titanium Backup installed, can I use this to install the .apk via SD? Where do I put the .apk file in the SD?
     

    Advertisement

  2. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    I believe it will install it. you just put it anywhere then browse to it.
     
  3. maskedviperus

    maskedviperus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    84
    10
    18
    Just browse to the apk on the sd card using file expert or any filemanager. Then click on it, it will install. No need to use titanium backup.
     
  4. Doyouwantaspoo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    Titanium Backup can't be used as a file manager? I would rather just use what I have instead of installing more bloatware if possible.
     
  5. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    I dont have titanium backup but I thought it could be used as filemanger
     
  6. Doyouwantaspoo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    I can't find an option anywhere to install apps from SD.. I would imagine there is a way though.. Considering you can use it to move apps back and forth from SD and uninstall apps.. Why wouldn't you be able to use it to install them?
     
  7. wyelkins

    wyelkins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    1,431
    447
    163
    Male
    Financial Services
    Savannah, GA
    Shabbymod 0.9 came with FileExpert and the ones before that came with ADEO or some form of file manager. If you haven't already deleted it that would be the easiest way to go. If you did delete it, you may have backed it up with TB first. I have a lot of apps TB'ed on my SD card that I temporarily install for various reasons. Only takes a few seconds to restore them and then delete when finished.

    Not sure if you can use TB to install an app that you have not previously backed up.
     
  8. Doyouwantaspoo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    Oh damn, I had no idea I already had FileExpert.. thanks a lot lol.
     
  9. maskedviperus

    maskedviperus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    84
    10
    18
    I explained it clear as possible. Its very obvious. Use file expert (you have shabbymod so you have fileexpert). Browse to the apk. Click on it. It will install. There is no more explanation necessary.
     
  10. Doyouwantaspoo

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    Yeah, I got it. I wasn't aware FileExpert came preinstalled with Shabbymod. I thought all I was was Titanium Backup, so I wanted to see if i could use that before installing another app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...