1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Possible to view "Authentication Problem" details

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by duckduck, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. duckduck

    duckduck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    I've got a network that no Android device can connect to. I've tried many. iPhones, iPads, laptops, PCs, they all work just fine. But Androids, no matter what type of branded OS they have, will not connect.

    After entering WiFi connection details, I get the message "Authentication Problem". The problem isn't the password, it's something with the WiFi Access Point (Motorola AP 5131, using release version 1.1). I can't begin to diagnose or fix the problem, until I can find out what "Authentication Problem" actually means.

    Is there a way to view a log of some sort to find out what the actual problem is?

    I'm on Lollipop 5.01, Kernel 3.10.61. WiFi authentication is WPA/WPA2 PSK. The device is a Lenovo TAB 2 A10. I don't know exactly what parts of it are branded in the package.
     

    Advertisement

    #1 duckduck, Mar 5, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    My best guess is that the AP is using TKIP encryption rather than AES; change this in the AP config and retry the connection.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  3. duckduck

    duckduck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    Awesome, thanks, I'll give that a try.
     
  4. duckduck

    duckduck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    No go, it's using CCMP.
     
  5. duckduck

    duckduck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    Nevermind, I mistook a "preference" for a setting. It was using TKIP. Changed to AES, and Voila! THanks @Slug
     
    mikedt likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...