1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Possible way to unlock o2 Streaks??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mark1252003, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. mark1252003

    mark1252003 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    67
    0
    15
    Hi all, just a thought but if people root their streaks or download other operating systems wouldnt this wipe the phone altogether thus deleting the locked o2 network?? :thinking::thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. twe

    twe Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    38
    3
    16
    No, that part of the phone does not have anything to do with the lock.
     
  3. mark1252003

    mark1252003 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    67
    0
    15
    Ahh, cheers for that ;)
     
  4. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    441
    28
    43
    Austin, TX
    A reply to the latest email I got from O2 about unlocking:


     
  5. mark1252003

    mark1252003 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    67
    0
    15
    Contradicting themselfs I think, I rang them yesterday trying to play the "Iam going abroad for a few weeks and need it unlocking" and they said if you had the phone longer than 12 month they WILL unlock it, anything before that its a no-no. The system that unlocks the phone will see that its not 12 month thus preventing it and theres no overiding the system. So come on O2 you can either unlock it and stop the BS "Exclusive to O2" crap or you cant!!!! :thinking::thinking:
     
  6. zipitupuk

    zipitupuk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Just buy a rebel sim :) works for me. I now use a Virgin Sim (T-Mobile)
    Mark
     
  7. prova

    prova Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    no need for rebel sim anymore..it worked well though...just go to mobileunlocked.co.uk and pay $11 and give imei and select your provider, AT&T or whatever and u get code...i got my code in reply email in under 2 minutes....didnt even know email was there till i browsed my inbox 2 minutes after submitting....
     
  8. mark1252003

    mark1252003 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    67
    0
    15
    Just tried that with O2 UK and it says it cannot be unlocked , good thing really as I bought a Rebel sim v1.2 the other day and it works a treat. :):)
     
  9. imouse

    imouse Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    O2 uses a totally different algorythm to generate their (un)lock codes.
    At this moment, it's only the Rebel Sim that works.
     
  10. unknown-singh

    unknown-singh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    30
    1
    36
    Technician
    London
    there are sellers on ebay now offering a code unlock for dell streaks but not cheap one seller is charging
     
  11. Technicallyaverage

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    I just went to the site and am awaiting a response. I will let everyone know how it goes. I am locked to AT&T even though I didnt buy my streak with a plan :mad:
     
  12. stevenlong

    stevenlong Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    211
    11
    58
    Computer Programmer
    Austin, TX
    I have AT&T service and purchase the Streak off contract.
    I just called AT&T support and asked for the unlock code, saying I planned to travel and would need the unlock code.
    They asked me my IMEI I gave it to them and in a few minutes they provided the code.
    I had to borrow a friends T-Mobile SIM card to see if it work but the code provided work just fine.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...