1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Post Your Overclock Results!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by REOFlashfire, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. REOFlashfire

    REOFlashfire Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Hey all. Thought it would be cool to make a thread where we could all post our OC results to help those new to OCing set their expectations appropriately and to assist us already OCing fine tune our settings. Please post your STABLE setscaling.sh script you use or freq and vsel.

    I'm currently using a low voltage setscaling.sh I saw which has been working out great for a day now. Will use it as a base and fine tune:

    Code (Text):
    1. echo 34 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
    2. echo 1150000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate
    3. echo 1 400000000 22 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    4. echo 2 700000000 26 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    5. echo 3 900000000 30 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    6. echo 4 1150000000 34 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    7. echo 0 1150000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    8. echo 1 900000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    9. echo 2 700000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    10. echo 3 400000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
     

    Advertisement

  2. haevn

    haevn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    105
    3
    36
    Shipping Manager
    Augusta, GA
    if you don't mind me asking, what are those codes for and what do they do? i have mine oc at 1.15g with 35 voltes and im running fine for a few days
     
  3. REOFlashfire

    REOFlashfire Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Those values control the performance states of the processor. Under lighter loads the lower frequency and voltage settings will be used; higher loads, higher frequencies. In the howto thread they show how you can setup your phone to run the setscaling.sh. Thanks for the result. :)
     
  4. haevn

    haevn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    105
    3
    36
    Shipping Manager
    Augusta, GA
    so if i type these code into adb it will set my phone up for those values?
     
  5. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
  6. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    No the whole file, containing the values, must be installed.


    Be careful, I tried the 1150 34 setting and my phone would not power up completely.
     
  7. haevn

    haevn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    105
    3
    36
    Shipping Manager
    Augusta, GA
    That's what i have mine set up as and i don't have any problems with it but my battery seems to die quicker, i think the cpu stays on 1.15 all the time and doesn't change when my phone is not in use
     
  8. paul89

    paul89 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,004
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    1,004
    84
    128
    Indiana, US
    i used 1.1ghx at 40 voltage, and I am stable there and battery life didnt drop at all over night
     
  9. FreeWELL

    FreeWELL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    99
    69
    33
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. echo 40 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
    3. echo 1100000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate
    4. echo 1 400000000 23 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    5. echo 2 700000000 28 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    6. echo 3 900000000 33 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    7. echo 4 1100000000 40 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    8. echo 0 1100000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    9. echo 1 900000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    10. echo 2 700000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    11. echo 3 400000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    12.  
    SetCPU Profiles are:
    Temp > 50C : 400Mhz ... priority 100
    Charging/Full: 1100Mhz ... priority 95
    Screen Off: 400Mhz ... priority 90
    Battery < 20%: 400Mhz ... priority 60
    Battery < 40%: 700Mhz ... priority 55
    Battery < 80%: 900Mhz ... Priority 50

    Commentary:
    Before overclocking I had SetCPU clamping down to 300Mhz when the screen locked/battery dropped below 20% to try and make my battery last... This usually made it really laggy when answering a call/unlocking the phone. 400Mhz seems to bring the X back up to a reasonably responsive level. As well, I went to sleep at midnight lastnight with my battery below 15%, even made a call and did some texting after I had the %15 alert. I fully expected my phone to be dead when I woke up 8 hours later... To my suprise I was still in the ORANGE!!! Maybe placebo, maybe a fluke, but overall with my settings, my X seems more responsive with a longer lasting battery... I only recharged once yesterday... This is all "seat of my pants" observations, though... It could just the tree I be smokin'... LOL
     
  10. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    124
    39
    43
    I should probably post this here as well:

    echo 36 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
    echo 1150000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate
    echo 1 300000000 24 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 2 600000000 28 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 3 800000000 32 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 4 1150000000 36 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 0 1150000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 1 800000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 2 600000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 3 300000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table

    The above scale ended up _not_ being completely stable. After installing Scrollable ContactWidget Beta and creating a large (2x4) widget, my phone rebooted while attempting to scroll through it. I re-executed the scale and re-created the widget, only to get another reboot. So, now I've bumped my voltages up a bit (see my scale below). I can now run multiple instances of the (2x4) Scrollable ContactWidget without getting a reboot. I think, at least for me, Hilbe's voltages are at the very bottom of my system's tolerances. This is fine for 99+% of use, but every once in awhile my system gets really taxed and gets unstable. Thus, a _WARNING_: I'd be hesitant to load the scaling script at boot until after _heavy_ testing. Especially if you're someone who likes to experiment with themes and the like. If your system is 99+% stable, there is still a chance that it'll crash under heavy load. If you happen to be replacing your framework-res.apk or system.jar and your system crashes because of low voltage, you might very well end up bricking your X. Of course, you should be able to restore it using the .sbf file, but that's a road I want to avoid if I can.

    So, if you're going experiment with low voltages, I'd suggest bumping them back up if/when you're modifying crucial system files. At least until you're _very_ sure your voltage scaling is stable.

    Below is my current scaling script. I'll report back on stability.

    echo 40 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
    echo 1150000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate
    echo 1 300000000 28 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 2 600000000 32 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 3 800000000 36 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 4 1150000000 40 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 0 1150000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 1 800000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 2 600000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 3 300000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
     
  11. REOFlashfire

    REOFlashfire Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    1150MHz stable seems to be the wall on these 3630s. 1200 so far is just unobtainable for me (reboots) but I've been at work all day so I'm going to continue trying. I'll probably hit a point of diminishing returns - where the voltage required for highest clocks will be too high for comfort. Keep those results coming!
     
  12. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    So how much does the way someone has their phone set up, as far as number of home screens; widgets; etc., affect the values needed to get stable settings?
     
  13. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    i guess it could affect it because all those things need power, so it could be needed to set lower clock speeds and higher voltages.

    I guess I have a phone that can take 1.2 ghz I only had one reboot with it at 34 voltage the whole day but that was too much for me. Has anyone else been able to get that high or higher
     
  14. REOFlashfire

    REOFlashfire Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I'd think the only difference that would make is it would throttle up to the in between p states more often so you'd have to make sure those were absolutely stable.
     
  15. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    So how come some people can run 1150 34 and others can't? My phone wouldn't even completely turn on with those settings.
     
  16. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    There are normal variations in the chip. Some chips will take overclocking better than others. It's common among all chips, not just this particular model.
     
  17. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    124
    39
    43
    Once again, I got a random reboot. It took a long time, and only showed up when trying to download and install something from the market. I've now downclocked to 1.1GHz, and am using the scale below. I'll report back on stability.

    echo 40 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
    echo 1100000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate
    echo 1 300000000 28 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 2 600000000 32 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 3 800000000 36 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 4 1100000000 40 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    echo 0 1100000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 1 800000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 2 600000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    echo 3 300000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
     
  18. REOFlashfire

    REOFlashfire Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I've had a few browser crashes the last couple of days so had to bump the voltages a bit. Not giving up on my 1150MHz yet!

    Code (Text):
    1. echo 40 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
    2. echo 1150000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate
    3. echo 1 400000000 26 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    4. echo 2 700000000 30 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    5. echo 3 900000000 34 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    6. echo 4 1150000000 40 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps
    7. echo 0 1150000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    8. echo 1 900000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    9. echo 2 700000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    10. echo 3 400000 > /proc/overclock/freq_table
    11.  
     
  19. YooserNaem

    YooserNaem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    So, do you gain any significant dl/ul speed when overclocked?
     
  20. REOFlashfire

    REOFlashfire Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Haven't run any comparison tests personally but i doubt it. OCing will make he ui feel snappier and improve benchmarks/gaming.
     
  21. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Correct. Whereas DL/UL speeds are a function of the 3G/WiFi signal and radio speed...
     
  22. YooserNaem

    YooserNaem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Ok. Just thought i would ask.

    Not that dl'ng at 500kb/s isn't fast enough for a phone.
     
  23. YooserNaem

    YooserNaem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Ok. Just thought i would ask.

    Not that dl'ng at 500kb/s isn't fast enough for a phone.
     
  24. YooserNaem

    YooserNaem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Ok. Just thought i would ask.

    Not that dl'ng at 500kb/s isn't fast enough for a phone.
     
  25. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,067
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    I finally had to settle on 1.1 ghz / 60. I tried knocking the volts down and started getting some crappy quadrents. Brought them back up and started getting 1300+ again. Is it worth it to bump my volts up to lets say 70 to see if it will help? Or will that be too much power continuously.
     

Share This Page

Loading...