1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Post your screens...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by caspertodd, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,863
    554
    213
    Cary, NC
    You cannot "enlarge your screen" but you can remove widgets to give you space. It sounds like the dimensional setup of the widget does not have room among your icons.
    I have two suggestions:
    1) read what the dimensions are supposed to be for the widget (it will be <4 X <4) then shift your icons around accordinly to make room for the widget.
    2) If the widget does not specify its dimensions, then I suggest taking note of the icons you have on your screen. Then removing all of those icons. Then add the widget to the empty screen, and then add the icons back in to fill the space up as you see fit.:)

    Edit: #1 would actually be less than or equal to 4 in both cases (not just less than).
     

    Advertisement

    godsdragon likes this.
  2. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida

    How do I remove widgets without deleting/uninstalling them?
    (pardon the question if you may)
     
  3. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,863
    554
    213
    Cary, NC
    the same as you get rid of icons. hold down on them on the screen until the phone vibrates and the icon/widget 'lifts up.' then move it down to the app drawer (which is now a waste basket). it doesn't delete anything except for the desktop icon.
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  4. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    Ok. I tried that. It did not work, Plus, when I tried to restore my apps icons they don't restore to where they were originally...
    Please help...:thinking:
     
  5. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,863
    554
    213
    Cary, NC
    The only way to get rid of a widget is to touch and hold down on it (about 2 secs) until it lifts up for you to move it.
    I don't understand how you were trying to restore the icons? They will not automatically restore to the position that they were in. You have to open the app drawer, hold down on the app you want, and it will select the app and you will be able to move it around the home screen to wherever you want it.
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  6. SmokinPiff

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    82
    6
    36
    Bronx, NY
    if you're not quite understanding how to move your icons and widgets around, they have youtube videos with people customizing their home screens. sometimes when you see something you get a better understanding of it :)
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  7. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    I did it... I still can't get the widget I want to work with on the desktop... they have choices of weather, weather with calendar, 2 by 2 2 by 4 etc...
    Thanks for the help
    Any good apps to have more than one start page?
     
  8. jennn

    jennn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    88
    10
    18
    Are you starting off with a blank screen when trying to apply the weather widget or do you still have some apps on the page?
     
  9. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida

    How do you get to the options for open home? When I click the icon it just brings me back to my home page... I need more desktop pages. Thanks for your help...
     
  10. caspertodd

    caspertodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    109
    6
    36
    Network Engineer
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Just press Menu, More, then Open Home Settings.
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  11. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    did you do that with Open Home?
     
  12. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,863
    554
    213
    Cary, NC
    Looks like Open Home (for the background, search button, launcher and labels), plus Beautiful Widgets (for the clock and maybe the calendar?). And then some type of icon pack.
     
  13. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    Thanks that worked. I just gotta play some more with it... I clicked on to have three home pages... How do I elicit the other two?
     
  14. speedy0307

    speedy0307 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    I've built a couple themes with Sweeter Home 2 - my favorite home software by far. Here are some pics of my themes:

    Palmdroid
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    DSP
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    RetroApple
    [​IMG]

    If you have Sweeter Home 2 you can download any of my themes by searching for Speedy0307 on the theme list. Enjoy.
     
  15. caspertodd

    caspertodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    109
    6
    36
    Network Engineer
    Murfreesboro, TN
    If you are asking how to add two more, when you go into menu, more, Open Home settings, there should be Number of Screens under user preferences. I personally like mine set to 5 screens. 7 gets to be too much for me. Under that there is an option to set the Main Screen. I have mine set to 3 so that it is the middle screen (out of the 5). At the very bottom of the Open Home Preferences screen you can label each screen if you want. Also, you may want to uncheck the Enable Weather Widget if you aren't using the one that came with OpenHome. That's really all the changes I made to mine. You may want to try out a few skins if you haven't already. Just press, Menu, More, Skins at the top. I use DarkHero.

    If you are asking how to get to the other two... you just swipe to the left or right to get to the other home screens.
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  16. caspertodd

    caspertodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    109
    6
    36
    Network Engineer
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Just posting an updated picture of my homescreen to show my notification bar and app drawer.

    [​IMG]


    Notification bar is from the Black Aero theme from Crake001 (sdx-developers website). App drawer is from RaiderEP (sdx-developers website).
     
  17. caspertodd

    caspertodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    109
    6
    36
    Network Engineer
    Murfreesboro, TN
    @Speedy0307: I really like that RetroApple theme!
     
  18. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    Thank you... I think I will try setting mine to 5, for some reason I got this weather/Calendar widget that will not post unless it has plenty of room in the desktop... We'll see...
     
  19. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida

    Nice looking one!
     
  20. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    I think the weather widget I've tried is messed up... It wont open at all unless it is the smallest sized one (2x2)...
     
  21. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,863
    554
    213
    Cary, NC
    Just making sure... But are you:
    1) holding your finger down on an empty space in the background
    2) waiting until the little menu pops up
    3) selecting the "widgets" option
    4) then selecting the desired widget from that menu?

    That's the only way to get the widgets onto you screen.


    Anyways, if that is what you are doing... then I suggest going to the market, uninstalling that widget pack, then reinstalling it.

    Can I ask what the name of the weather widget?
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  22. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    I have not been able to get more than 3 start screens I'll have to try the option for 5...
     
  23. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    Weather forecast widget by francois Delandes... I asked for my money back.. they treated me like crap at their xda developers forums...I was mouthy but I posted a question about a month ago that never got answered...:mad:
     
  24. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    494
    96
    53
    Seattle
    Have you paid? If not, a lot of the widgets say "Only included with the pay version".
     
  25. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    I still had apps on the page... But I asked for my money back...


    Do any of you know of any widgets that have calendar, weather and clock, three in one?
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...