• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Potential Blackberry Convert Torn...

Hey guys and girls,

I'm a newbie to the site here, even though I have been reading and researching for the past week or. I figured it was finally time to ask some questions. I currently use a Blackberry Pearl flip and have used a blackberry device for the past 4 years. After seeing the Droid and Eris, and using them in stores, I think it is time for me to make the leap. But I don't know to which one, so any advice you could give would be appreciated. I also have a few specific questions I was hoping you could help me with...

1) Will either of these devices make me sell my IPod Touch. I love the Ipod touch, but hate carrying two devices all the time. My IPod is mainly a wifi tool that I use to get weather updates before work, on shopping trips with my wife (o: , and to listen to podcasts and some music (an hour a day or so). Is the Droid or Eris's media player good/sufficient enough so that I could sell the IPod touch? Would either phone's battery's be able to take the extra use of the media player?

2) I'm a courier at FedEx, so I don't have the cleanest or most laidback job. I'm worried if I'd get the Droid, dirt and or wear and tear could get teh best of that sliding keyboard? Any thoughts?

3) Does Gmail push to the Android phones like my yahoo mail does to my blackberry? Or is it pulled every 5, 10, or however many minutes you set it to pull? I already forwarded my Yahoo mail to a Gmail account (in preparation for this switch) so I'm interested to see if it is a true push email. I also usually have friends text message me through my email, and I respond to them at 8145554444@vtext.com so that I don't have to have a text message plan on top of my data plan, so the email push relates to that too (I know, cheapo, but what can I say).