1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Power/Activate Button

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by keytoarson, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. keytoarson

    keytoarson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I just got a Samsung Galaxy SII and have not noticed this issue until just recently, whether because I just wasn't paying attention or it didn't happen before. The issue is that when I tap the power button to activate the phone, it takes about 3 seconds for my phone to come on. When I tap the power button to put the phone "to sleep" it does it instantly.

    Anyone have this issue as well? Or know how I can fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,080
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,080
    27,814
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Yes, I've noticed this as well. I believe it has to do with having an additional sd card installed.
     
  3. caravaggio

    caravaggio Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    48
    6
    36
    Hong Kong
    I think Lunatic59 may be right.
    My Samsung Galaxy SII doesn't have the additional SD card installed and it powers up instantly.
    It maybe something you have to live with.
    :thinking:
     
  4. keytoarson

    keytoarson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    How can you tell if you have an additional SD card installed? I haven't done anything with the phone since I got it and it worked fine at first.
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,080
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,080
    27,814
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Open the back and look just above the battery, You should see two slots ... one for the sim and one for an sd card. If there's nothing there, we might need to rethink this.
     
  6. keytoarson

    keytoarson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I found the MicroSD HC 8GB card.. That's it I'm assuming. I don't see the SIM card though...? Should I take the SD card out then?
     
  7. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,856
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,856
    3,446
    923
    3 sec? that is a long time.. this is not normal for other android phones..

    is this only specific to SGS2??
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,080
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,080
    27,814
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you have a Verizon or Sprint phone, they use CDMA networks and won't have a sim card. You could take the sd card out and see if that fixes your unlock lag issue.
     
    keytoarson likes this.
  9. keytoarson

    keytoarson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    That does fix the problem.. It just doesn't make sense to me that this would cause the issue. I guess I'll have to get used to it. Thanks for your help!
     
  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,080
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,080
    27,814
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Do you have a lot on the SD card?

    I have 11 GB of podcasts on mine, so i assumed is was the source of the lag.
     
  11. keytoarson

    keytoarson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Nope... Got nothing on there. All I have is a couple of CD's on there and maybe 10 pictures. Which are all saved on the main drive.
     
  12. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > SD tab. Anything that is on the SD card, move to the phone. See if you have the lag anymore. If not, you can add apps back to the SD card one by one until you find what's lagging your phone. Or don't, if you have plenty of internal space.

    If that doesn't fix it, go into your SD card using a file explorer and rename the Android folder to something else (like "Android_backup") and see if that fixes it. If it does, one by one, add folders back to Android/data until you find the culprit app that does it.
     
    keytoarson likes this.
  13. p1r4te

    p1r4te Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    27
    7
    16
    electrician
    Aukland, New Zealand.
    i have recently accuired a galaxy sII, and havent had a problem like that.
    i dont have a sd card on mine.
    did you update the sII, mine is stock out of the box and i will update only once ics comes out.

    please update the post once you fix this issue, i might get a 32gb sd in the near future for mine too.
     
  14. schwenger

    schwenger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    57
    13
    18
    Hudson Valley, New York
    I have a 16gb card from my original droid and I don't experience this lag.
     
  15. keytoarson

    keytoarson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I did this and it seemed to have helped it... I had one game on it that was fairly small and that is the only thing that was on the SD card.

    Thanks for your help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...