• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Power stip icons

Shofar

Android Enthusiast
Apr 18, 2010
I'm new to Andriod and in a place with poor WiFi and poor cell coverage but was able to download my first program yesterday "Olive Tree" and it works.

I don't understand all the icons on the power strip I put on my home page:
From left to right:

WiFi, Bluetooth, X.Y, Screen Brightness

Can some one explain X and Y?

Screen is set to medium.
I turn WiFi and Bluetooth on and off as needed. Is that good power mangegment?

At a conference so don't get to play much most of the day.

Also using the built in weather widget, not much connectivity sometimes it works, sometimes not.

Thanks

You mean the built in grey android one with five settings?

X would be GPS, Y would be automatic sync, the first having no real need to be on unless you are navigating since the phone can use phone towers for your location within a few hundres meters, and the second being a personal choice.

Yeah Just leave bluetooth and wifi off if you do not need them.

As for the screen, set it to whatever works best for you; or leave it on auto.

Reactions: Shofar
Upvote 0
Is auto sync and mobile internet the same thing?

As I am not in my home country and don't have PAYG 3G sim yet, I have mobile data off in settings.

I "Y" the auto sync the same thing?

Also when I set up my ISP which requires authenitification, the Desire program tells me my server does not have certification and sends me back to the new account page until I untick "requires authentification" which keeps me from getting email on the phone.

Any suggestions to this problem?

With thanks for your help and patience

Upvote 0
Auto sync means that emails are pushed to you in real time, calender syncs with google calendar facebook updates are checked for every once in a while - that sort of thing.