1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Pre-Rooted GB OUT!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by subdivisions, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. subdivisions

    subdivisions Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    35
    2
    16

    Advertisement

  2. subdivisions

    subdivisions Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    35
    2
    16
  3. Stick1300

    Stick1300 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    56
    3
    36
    So, if I'm still running FroYo, can I just unfreeze my bloat and go from there? I wish someone would type up a step by step for newbies like me.
     
    CPR likes this.
  4. CPR

    CPR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    125
    13
    38
    Same here. I have stock (un-rooted) Froyo. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  5. redwingfaninnc

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    CPR likes this.
  6. CPR

    CPR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    125
    13
    38
    I'm doing it now. Will let you know if I have a $500 boat anchor shortly. :D
     
  7. i_am_booked

    i_am_booked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    86
    6
    16
    im installing right now as well. hope this works.

    edit: crossing fingers, knocking on wood. it booting right now.
     
  8. CPR

    CPR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    125
    13
    38
    Installing update.zip file now, patching files. Looks promising. EDIT - SUCCESS! I can't explain it, but the screen looks better. It does transition between home screens MUCH smoother than Froyo. Time to play. :)

    After restarting, I'm showing 145MB free. :)

    I have a question about the TBH GB release and (especially) the bootstrap file from China we have to use. Is there a possibility either of these files have spyware, malware, etc.? I'm going to be leery of putting sensitive data on the phone now.
     
  9. i_am_booked

    i_am_booked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    86
    6
    16
    worked for me on the first try. GB is so much snappier than froyo ever could be.
     
  10. redwingfaninnc

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've wondered that before too, but I'm pretty sure that at this point someone else would have uncovered this.
     
  11. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    hey guys i hope you enjoy rooted GB.

    in the future though when you create threads of this nature put them in the All Things Root section. Thanks.
     
  12. CPR

    CPR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    125
    13
    38
    Crap, I didn't create a Nandroid back-up before installing the rooted P3Droid GB. Am I screwed now if I want to restore the phone back to its original state?
     
  13. Stick1300

    Stick1300 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    56
    3
    36
    Grrrrrr. Since updating, every time I have to restart my phone (or unhook it from my laptop) it takes FOREVER (I'm talking 15min or more, easily) to mount the sd card. I just get a "Preparing SD Card, checking for errors" notification the whole time and it eventually goes away and things seem peachy. It wasn't doing this before. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  14. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
    I think something may have gone wrong with your update then. I am seeing none of this. I rooted my stock phone, installed bootstrap and installed the rom. I did NOT clear data or cash (though I kind of wanted to. But I figured I try this first). Feels much more responsive and am having no trouble thus far.
     
  15. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
    You should be able to use SBF to go back to original no?
     
    CPR likes this.
  16. afx38

    afx38 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    A big thank you to all involved in this process. I read all the posts here and elsewhere. Afterwards I determined that since I didn't freeze any bloat I'd be fine skipping the SBF, and I was. Followed P3droids steps, minimal as they were and it worked. No errors, no bootloop. Anyway can't say thanks enough.
     
  17. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    So once we have pre-rooted GB installed, can we just re-freeze the bloat and re-add any tweaks we made to previously rooted Froyo?
     
  18. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    After 12 hours, I have only two negative observations:
    1) Battery life appears worse than Froyo
    2) I'm not getting LED notifications for new email, etc.

    Anyone else with similar issues, or have suggestions for what to do to "fix" these issues?
     
  19. kramerica

    kramerica Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    357
    60
    73
    West Michigan
    It's what I have done and I have been on this since it came out. I have also themed the framework and a couple apps and have been running good ever since (except when I themed LPP and accidentally froze "home" which sent me to a never ending boot up - not boot loop - and had to SBF and luckily just restore the GB and nandroid backup).
     
  20. kramerica

    kramerica Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    357
    60
    73
    West Michigan
    1. I haven't noticed a big change in the battery life myself, but I have been screwing around with it so much, I chalked it up to the theming and gaming and display. I just wiped the battery stats this morning and will try to remember to update.
    2. I'm getting the LED notifications, but am not getting the sound notifications I set in the new gmail version.

    FWIW, I actually think I miss the Minimal X ROM even though it is surrounded in the mass quantity of controversy. My reception is still horrible and am hoping that this phone will get some BuglessPete going as he had some radio's that worked very well with my original X.
     
  21. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    Can you explain how to do this? On the D1, it was done within CWR. On the X2 is it done in the recovery software or by booting with volume down pressed, or something even easier?
     
  22. kramerica

    kramerica Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    357
    60
    73
    West Michigan
    You can do it one of two ways.

    1. Go in to clockwork recovery (when your phone has been charged to 100%), arrow down to 'advanced', arrow down to 'wipe battery stats'. (edit - sorry missed the part where you said you had done it with the OG and it's done the same way).
    2. Go to the market and download "Battery Calibration". It does the same thing, but you won't have to go to in to recovery to do this.

    It essentially "deletes" the file that stores your battery usage and then creates a new one. You should do this any time you flash a new ROM. :)
     
  23. roy5000x2

    roy5000x2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    77
    12
    18
    Boston
    Anyone have issues with apps force closing? I'm 99% sure I know what I did wrong (which is why I'm redoing the pre-root update), but I just wanted to see if anyone else was having it happen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...