1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Pressing home key - white screen issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alanbingham27, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. alanbingham27

    alanbingham27 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    203
    9
    36
    Have seen several posts of users complaining that when they are in an app, text, email etc... and they press the home key to go back to the main screen they get the white screen with the green HTC logo then their home screen displays 'loading'

    I spoke to a HTC UK advisor on their instant messenger thing and explained this to him and was told it is a software issue, people have claimed that it could be a dodgy app but HTC told me it is a software issue.

    I posted a thread a while back stating that I couldn't get a 3rd party launcher to set as default like Go, ADW etc... No matter what I done like setting a 3rd party as default, clearing defaults in Sense etc... would not work and when pressing the home key I was ALWAYS prompted to select what launcher I wanted as default even though I had ticked the box to select Go as default hundreds of times. I was also told that this is a software issue too. They tried to blame the third party launcher but there is no way no matter what launcher I downloaded it would not set.

    I also had dust gathering under my screen which will be repaired too.

    Phone was collected on Tuesday so will post back and let every UK user know what their repair service is like as I have heard horror stories, I was very reluctant to send it but the white screen was doing my head in, was doing it 10-15 times per day.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Cougar

    Cougar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    420
    16
    38
    Geek
    Lancashire, England
    How long have apps not been software?
     
  3. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    I don't care what HTC say or claim, it is 100% nothing to do with a 3rd party launcher in relation to it not sticking as the default, I wouldn't except that as an answer and would push for a replacement phone!
     
  4. alanbingham27

    alanbingham27 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    203
    9
    36
    What does that mean?
     
  5. alanbingham27

    alanbingham27 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    203
    9
    36

    Gibbs, agreed. I have had a few Android phones previous to my Sensation, LG Optimus 1 and Galaxy and both never had this issue, it was a 5 second job to set a 3rd party launcher as default as you know. The advisor in HTC tried to blame the white screen issue on the 3rd party launcher in relation to default settings, he soon changed his tune when I told him I removed any 3rd party launchers months ago as they wouldnt set as default. He had to go check with technical I think and they agreed it is a software issue and needs repaired, he also said that he uses Go as a launcher and it sets as default with no problems at all and said I shouldn't be having this problem.
     
  6. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Are you sending it back then?

    Perhaps you can get him to use GO Launcher on it to test it before sending it back ;)
     
  7. alanbingham27

    alanbingham27 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    203
    9
    36
    Gibbs, what is weird. Over the weekend there I decided to try Go one last time before ringing HTC and it actually worked. Go have introduced a new thing since I last downloaded and it gives you the option for Go itself to clear the defaults in Sense and set Go as the default launcher, which I did. And to my amazement it worked, I was never prompted when pressing the home key. Saying that, the same happened months ago where it would last 2 days then I press the home key and then it asks me again and wont set as default. As I said, they said that the white screen issue and 3rd party launcher issue is definitely a software issue. My phone is away, was collected on Tuesday and was being repaired earlier, arrived in HTC repair at 11.30am today. Hopefully it'll be back with me in the next day or 2.
     
  8. Cougar

    Cougar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    420
    16
    38
    Geek
    Lancashire, England
    It means that I'm perplexed as to why a "software" problem would merit a return of the hardware.

    As an aside, I've had the same issue. It (coincidentally?) started when I was buying apps during the Christmas promotion. I've not yet got to the bottom of it, but it's intermittent enough for me not to be overly bothered, yet.
     
  9. gotcake

    gotcake Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012

    Jan 15, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have the Droid incredible & went from an occasional white screen & loading screen, to EVERY time I went to home screen. Also, everything was lagging.Found this on another forum & it worked for me! Go into your settings, applications, manage applications, "all" tab, messages,"force stop" (at the top of page), and then re-start the phone. . My never ending circular arrow went away and no more white screen!
     
  10. R Deep Singh

    R Deep Singh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    122
    12
    38
    Spoke to a HTC agent today about this. He asked what version of Android I was using, to which I said 2.3.4. he said there are already issues with that that they know about and a newer version is released. Either 2.3.5 or 2.4.5. He said we just have to wait for the servers to become available
     
  11. sleepingseason

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    56
    11
    18
    Student
    Southampton, UK
    I somehow doubt that they'd be giving us an update to 2.3.5 so soon before we've been promised 4.0.x

    EDIT: I say that, but the Rezound just got a maintenance update.
     
  12. Cougar

    Cougar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    420
    16
    38
    Geek
    Lancashire, England
    Just a thought,

    How many of you with this problem are running a third party battery (eg, Anker) rather than the stock HTC one?
     
  13. StoneDeCroze

    StoneDeCroze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    78
    5
    16
    Completely stock unbranded phone, also just done a complete reset and wipe, and get the issue with no additional apps installed, and no changes to any settings other then entering my gmail account info, and downloading the software update the phone prompted me to install.
     
  14. jam53ice

    jam53ice Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    is there any chance this problem could be caused by the sim card, as my old htc hero done this loads of times, and ive just recently got a htc sensation and its doing it already, ive had the htc sensation for about a week and i've had the white screen about 5-6 times? just a thought
     
  15. R Deep Singh

    R Deep Singh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    122
    12
    38
    Just a note - when I rang HTC last time they told me they are aware there are issues with this version of android and should be fixed with the next update (fingers crossed)
     
  16. sleepingseason

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    56
    11
    18
    Student
    Southampton, UK
    I'm using the Anker battery, but I think that it was doing this before I began using it.
    I tend to find that the incidence of the white screens decreases if I uninstall a number of apps to bring myself down (I still have over 100 apps installed). The issue doesn't go away completely, however.
     
  17. sleepingseason

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    56
    11
    18
    Student
    Southampton, UK
    Has anybody tried doing a factory reset in response to this problem? I'm beginning to consider it, but would like to know if it actually works before I take that leap.
     
  18. R Deep Singh

    R Deep Singh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    122
    12
    38

    Yes I have, don't waste your time and energy the problem still occurs
     
  19. sleepingseason

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    56
    11
    18
    Student
    Southampton, UK
    Okay, thanks. I guess I'll just have to wait and hope that the ICS upgrade next month fixes it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...