1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Pressing screen for photos

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by weihl165, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. weihl165

    weihl165 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    296
    14
    38
    Is there a way to long press the screen in the camera app to focus and take the picture. I could do it with my incredible, but doesn't seem to work on rezound. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. thornev

    thornev Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    309
    98
    53
    Hudson Valley, NY
    You can choose on what object the camera will focus by pressing the screen. I don't believe you can press the screen to take the picture though.
     
  3. weihl165

    weihl165 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    296
    14
    38
    I did try and it didn't work, was wondering if there was a setting I was missing to get it to work
     
  4. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    weihl165 likes this.
  5. thornev

    thornev Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    309
    98
    53
    Hudson Valley, NY
    That's odd. I don't think I've changed any settings. Are you in camera or video mode when you try the screen press? I know touching the screen to tell the phone where to focus works in camera mode.
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Same situation with my Evo vs. my Evo 3D. On the Evo, you could screen-press for focus, spot metering and taking the picture - on the 3D, it's focus only.

    I'm guess they did this as part of Sense 3. :(
     
    NightAngel79 and weihl165 like this.
  7. weihl165

    weihl165 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    296
    14
    38
    Ahh Bummer!! I really liked that feature in the stock camera, tried 360 and didn't like it to much.
     
  8. vzwuser76

    vzwuser76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    That was that way on the original Incredible, but on the phones since (Thunderbolt, Incredible 2, and Rezound) long pressing the screen will only focus the camera on the area you're touching. To take the pic, you have to press the shutter button along the right side of the screen. This is for the stock camera software, but other apps may allow for long pressing to take a pic. There are no settings that you can change in the menu to accomplish that with stock software.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...