1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Prevail rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tommy78, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. Tommy78

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    259
    34
    63
    Florida
    I could have posted this in the main thread where I got this information from, but something new seemed like a better idea if I were to help a new user right now.

    I've recently rooted my Galaxy Prevail and figured I'd post how I did it, and honestly, it was very simple.

    I downloaded the Samsung drivers and the KMS zip file here. http://androidforums.com/galaxy-prevail-all-things-root/346918-one-click-root.html

    I followed the instructions and it worked well, the only issue was that I had to run the "PrevailToExistence.bat" 3 or 4 times before it actually worked, but that seemed to be mentioned there and was normal.

    One of the first things I did was try to remove the "bloatware" or factory apps that were installed by default when you get the phone. First I used some other app, (forget the name) it did work but was more of a hassle to have to type in commands manually to get the apps removed, then I found Titanium Backup. TB does a few things for you but one of its functions does include removing apps in a simple point-and-click kind of way, that was much easier. If anyone has any questions, I can help.
     

    Advertisement

    monkeyman45044 likes this.
  2. Viet1982

    Viet1982 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    116
    54
    53
    Student
    New Orleans
    If running the batch file doesn't work while your phone is on, boot it up and when you see the Samsung logo start the batch file up on your computer.

    Also Titanium Backup can make your internal user apps convert to system ROM apps freeing up more space on internal storage. You just need to press down on the selected app in the list for a few seconds and a second submenu pops up and there's an option that reads "convert to system app" or something like that, you can also revert a system app back to internal.
     
    CrystalCin813 likes this.
  3. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    185
    30
    43
    Male
    Business Intelligence Analyst, SQL Developer
    Cleveland, OH
    Could you expand on that a little Viet? I guess I'm not clear on the difference in internal user apps vs. system ROM apps, and the benefit AND drawback of converting internal user to system ROM.

    Any insight is appreciate. Thanks!
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    >.> i think the point of his post was to let new guys know how easy it was and that he could help, not that he was having issues :)
     
    monkeyman45044 likes this.
  5. Tommy78

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    259
    34
    63
    Florida
    Yeah, I was a little confused at viet1982's post since I had already done what I needed to do and was not looking for help. Anyway, it appears that he can help out too when the time comes.
     
  6. Viet1982

    Viet1982 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    116
    54
    53
    Student
    New Orleans
    Sorry :eek: I need to stop jumping the gun on these posts thinking everyone needs help and just to read more thoroughly. As yall can see I don't like reading much so I tend to make up my own stories in my head :p
     
  7. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    XD the stories in my head tend to be much better ;P
     
  8. awdtsi42o

    awdtsi42o Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Can someone please explain what using Titanium Backup to "convert to user app" in the backup/restore menu does? I would like to transfer as many apps as possible to get my Prevail running the best and fastest I can, right now I am extremely low on internal memory:

    Can I transfer all of my programs to the SD?

    Any drawbacks to running them from SD?

    Do the apps launch/run faster from internal memory?

    Thanks for any help in advance!
     
  9. Tommy78

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    259
    34
    63
    Florida
    You don't need to use TB, just hit the menu button/settings/applications/manage applications. then tap an app and click on move to SD card. Some apps cannot be moved, but just try the next one and keep going down the list.

    Most of them.

    Not really, just that you have to always leave the SD card inserted otherwise whatever you moved to it will not able to be used anymore.

    No.
     
  10. awdtsi42o

    awdtsi42o Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Thanks very much for your help!

    So is there any reason or purpose to keep TB?
     
  11. Tommy78

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    259
    34
    63
    Florida
    I used TB to backup files and also remove the bloatware (files that came with the phone that use resources that normally cannot be deleted unless rooted). TB removes those apps easily. Apps like Hookt, Layar, SCVNGR, Twidroyd, Youtube, TeleNav GPS, Poynt and others, but be careful, removing some apps (not listed) can harm your phone.
     
  12. CrystalCin813

    CrystalCin813 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Female
    I'm a stay at home person lol
    Tampa, Florida
    Anyone use jrummy root tools on the prevail yet??
     
  13. Mraines

    Mraines Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Ok, I have a prevail, and I don't have a clue about rooting... I heard about it, but don't know how to do it. I really REALLY need some help! Please! =)
    *michelle*
     
  14. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #76
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    look at this thread here

    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-pre...oot-samsung-prevail-replenish-shabbyfied.html

    The download you need and instructions are there.

    Root is very easy, what do you do after rooting is slightly more complicated. :D
     
  15. tee2dream

    tee2dream Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Very cool info Tommy.

    Being a bit of a nube, where can I find Titanium Backup?

    Thnx
     
  16. MDykstra

    MDykstra Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    56
    0
    15
    I downloaded the drivers and zip file. I followed instructions step by step and ran the PrevailToExistence batch file 4 or 5 times. My phone still isn't rooted. Titanium Backup will not work, and I cannot move the bloatware to SD card on my own. What do I do?
     
  17. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #76
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    you are most likely using the wrong one click root based on that prevail to existance batch. that is the older one. the new one I linked to 2 posts up
     
  18. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    You can find it on Android Market . I bought the Pro Key but a lot of people just stick with the free version . :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...