• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Privacy and Problems...Help Please.

vampathy

Lurker
Dec 22, 2011
icon1.gif
Hey yall
Hey yall. I'm a newbie here but not a newbie to android but not as advanced as some. I do have some questions and would appreciate any and all advice I can get.

Since verizon updated my phone and said that the update is why my phone was not connecting well it has been a nightmare. My phone is now more sluggish and the touch sensitivity is slow. Also there are lots more problems with the pictures I take messing up or not saving at all. My biggest issue to date are the new apps that are collecting and storing my personal info from the phone as well as the pictures I have never looked at before, never seen or saved on my phone showing up only when I download pics I have taken to my pc. (Example: I had 162 pics on my phone but 694 pictures downloaded to my pc. About 100 of those I had deleted a few months prior after downloading to pc and the other 400 were pics of people and things I have never seen before. I don't know who those people were!!!) How the heck are they on my phone??? I have also noticed new apps on my phone I am unable to delete that are ticking me off and I feel are not only an invasion of my privacy but dangerous. They are apps called 'Data Collection', Data Collector Service', Data Collector Provider', 'Sync Service' and lots more.

With the update I am no longer able to save a contact into my phone with it giving me only two options: sync with google or sync with verzon. That's all kinds of wrong!!! I shouldn't be forced and yet the verizon techs like to say 'Oh no mam, we aren't forcing you to do anything' I then say 'Ok so then why don't I have an option on there of saving it just to my phone?' They can't answer.