1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General probably a stupid question re:google search bar

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LukeTX04, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. LukeTX04

    LukeTX04 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    how do i set the google search bar widget so that it opens in the dolphin browser? is this possible?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ty07allstar

    Ty07allstar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    206
    7
    36
    Make sure you have Dolphin set as your default browser. When you search, it should open in Dolphin.
     
  3. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    That's a good question. Is the google search there tied to Browser, or does it just try to go to http://www.google.com/?p=searchwahteverwhatever.... it could be tied to browser, or it could just try to open the link, in which case it WOULD be possible to use Dolphin with it.

    If you haven't done this already,

    Home > Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Browser > Clear Defaults

    Then try your Google Search. If it is possible to have dolphin work with this, it will ask what you want to use for default. Check the box that appears below your Browser choices (Dolphin and Browser will be your choices, you'll see), and then, obviously, touch 'Dolphin'.
     
  4. TJTHEBEST

    TJTHEBEST Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    128
    5
    36
    Homebrewer
    arcata, ca
    This didnt work for me. Hmm. What should i do now?
     
  5. soulfetcher13

    soulfetcher13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    232
    32
    63
    lab guy for Coca Cola
    tennessee
    I don't think it will work. I uninstalled dolphin specifically for default browsing conflicts. Here is what will. Happen inthis scenario. You search will, or should come up in the native browser. When you click the link however, it should ask whether you want to complete using browser or dolphin.
     
  6. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Yeah then it looks like the default Google Search widget uses Browser no matter what.

    Has anyone confirmed that using the quick search button (Magnifying glass) next to Home/Menu/Back also restricts you to Browser, rather than being able to use Dolphin or others?
     
  7. theacousticprophet

    theacousticprophet Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    97
    8
    16
    Using the voice search (long press magnifying class), takes you to the google search result page using what looks to be the default browser. Clicking any link from there, however, will open it up in dolphin IF that is set to be the default browser.
     

Share This Page

Loading...