1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problem after root to Vanilla

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rossco_Pee, May 3, 2010.

  1. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    I rooted to Grdlocks Vanilla ROM last night. Everything seemed to be working great, but a problem surfaced that is pretty ugly. The only way I can hear the person on the other end of a call is if I turn on the speakerphone. The caller on the other end states all the hear is static if I turn the speakerphone off. Has anyone had this problem? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    will try it now.
    incoming call or outgoing?
     
  3. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    Both. I tested calling my voicemail inbox. I start with speakerphone off and I hear nothing. Then when I press speakerphone I can hear again. Very strange.
     
  4. hattrick

    hattrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    230
    29
    43
    No issue here. I've been running VanillaROM for ~30 days. Maybe try to reflash the ROM?
     
  5. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    no issue either. sorry
     
  6. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    What is the SOP for reflashing a ROM? Should I wipe data/davlik first?
     
  7. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    yes. do both and then install from sd card
     
    Rossco_Pee likes this.
  8. hattrick

    hattrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    230
    29
    43
    Yes. You should always wipe data/davlik when installing a new ROM. I would also do it before reflashing the ROM (since you're having problems).
     
    Rossco_Pee likes this.
  9. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    Thanks guys. Could it be possible that my earpiece microphone is broken? Would it be possible to test this somehow?
     
  10. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    revert back to stock 1.5 and try it out. see if its still not working, if its not you can take it into the store and get a replacement. if its working then its a problem with the ROM, and i would just pick a different one
     

Share This Page

Loading...