1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Problem connecting to facebook - all fix attempts failed

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by djentlemanl, May 10, 2011.

  1. djentlemanl

    djentlemanl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    6
    4
    6
    Yo
    whenever i try to use the facebook app on my phone (or anything along the lines of that, like wikipedia, nuclearblast, market etc) it doesnt load and instead puts up this error message that says "connection to https://api-read.facebook.com refused"
    ive tried turning it off and on several times, ive scoured the internet for anyone having a similar problem but i couldnt find anyone.
    if anyone could offer some advice it would be appreciated

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

    kupz ank likes this.
  2. djentlemanl

    djentlemanl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    6
    4
    6
    does no one have any advice at all? ive searched everywhere and i have no money in my phone to phone up a helpline. if anyone could even let me know of a free helpline to call? i have a samsung GT-I5500
     
    kupz ank likes this.
  3. seangworld

    seangworld Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    sup man. i only registered to answer your question, as ive been watching and refreshing all morning. i had the same problem until just a minute ago.

    on ur phone, open your browser, go to facebook as you normally do. it's ok if you get the connetion error. click on menu, click on more, go to settings. scroll all the way down to the 'advanced' section. click on 'website settings'. the only things i left in this screen are: m.facebook.com, google.com, and touch.facebook.com. everything else i deleted by clickin on it individually and clearing it. i backed out and refreshed my browser a couple of times and im good to go again.

    im not sure which link in there was fn it all up, but whatever it was, it's gone. there were like 2 or 3 other links in there that didnt appear to supposed to be linked with facebook.com.

    p.s.: my phone started doing this crap yesterday. i have the original mytouch 3g from tmobile.
     
    kupz ank likes this.
  4. djentlemanl

    djentlemanl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    6
    4
    6
    still didnt work man :( i dont use the browser to view facebook, i have a specific facebook app that doesnt seem to be working - along with my wikipedia app and any other app that requires access to the internet. i cant use the actual browser as i have no money in my phone.

    i tried your method and scrolled down to the advanced settings, but when i got to that section on the "website settings", the section was a dark gray and wouldnt allow me to click on it so i couldnt clear it.
     
    kupz ank likes this.
  5. djentlemanl

    djentlemanl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    6
    4
    6
    thanks a lot anyway though man
     
    kupz ank likes this.
  6. seangworld

    seangworld Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    ok. ya i try not to use the facebook apps.
     
  7. djentlemanl

    djentlemanl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    6
    4
    6
    the reason i use it is because its free whereas to check facebook using the actual browser costs me money. i thought that maybe it was because i was out of money that the problem was happening but i ran out of money on the 6th and it worked up until last night so i dont know why it would do that. Seems that technology just has built in "piss off everyone" aspects.
     
  8. seangworld

    seangworld Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    then your service sucks. lol, then again im grandfathered in with tmobile. i have unlimited minutes anytime, and unlimited web (which is like 25-30 bucks/month), unlimited messaging (text/vm/pics). i pay, incl taxes, about 85/month for all.

    p.s.: tmobile has the best plans for your dollar anywhere. anyone who tells you diff is a liar.
     
  9. djentlemanl

    djentlemanl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    6
    4
    6
  10. seangworld

    seangworld Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

  11. bcrocker84

    bcrocker84 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hey mate

    I was just getting the same error and this was the only place I found anyone with it. I just worked out it's a DNS problem.

    I was trying to login to FB and Twitter etc on my phone at work on WIFI, and we don't allow access on our internal DNS to those sites as people would just sit on them and doss about all day!

    So I downloaded the Set DNS app and set my WIFI to Google DNS. Now that I'm on an external DNS I can load my FB and Twitter apps fine!

    If you do use this app to set a different DNS, make sure you restart your phone to clear the DNS cache and the WIFI will reconnect automatically on the new DNS you set in the app. Took me about 10 mins to think to even do that.

    Hope this helps in some way.
     
  12. dwappo7851

    dwappo7851 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    149
    19
    58
    Nope, that did not work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...