1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Problem: i7500 Randomly Shutting Itself Off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rosboy, Aug 5, 2009.

  1. rosboy

    rosboy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009

    Aug 5, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    OK, I'm the person who started this thread. In the past week I've had to totally abandon my i7500 because it refused to allow me to make or receive calls.

    If I receive a call, I can hear nothing from the other end, and they can't hear me.

    If I try to make a call, I hear nothing at all, even though the call seems to go through (I can see the timer start for the call duration).

    Not sure if this is linked to the firmware problem or not.

    Very frustrating after paying
     

    Advertisement

  2. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
    We really need someone with the old firmware to make us a nandroid backup. Any volunteers?
     
  3. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009

    Jul 18, 2009
    82
    0
    15
    I will likely try to root and make a backup sometime this weekend. I need to get ADB going on one of my machines and I just haven't wanted to mess with it this week.

    I have two machines, one running XP and one running Vista (x64) will one be harder than the other?

    Also- I mentioned this in another thread and don't recall a clear answer, are there two different recovery images? Or are the ones at receptorblog and hdblog the same? If different, any advantages of one over the other?
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,539
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,539
    211
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    I think people have had more problem with Vista ..

    I have done two 4 Systems 2 XP, 1 Vista, and 1 Linux Ubuntu..

    XP or Linux is my recommendation
     
  5. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
    You can use either Windows machines, just change the adb driver as i explained in the other thread. Its quite straight forward.

    Yeah there are two images. I prefer the one from hdblog.it because it has more options (backup, restore, delete oldest backup, recovery, exit). There really is no other difference between them.
     
  6. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
    That's quite wierd. I've done windows 7 and vista and XP all exactly the same way and zero problems.
     
  7. rosboy

    rosboy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009

    Aug 5, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    I've tried on each of XP, Vista and Win7. Vista was the only one that worked for me.

    How do I install in on Ubuntu?
     
  8. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
  9. m4j3r

    m4j3r Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    After h8 updite, my phone is finnaly working the way it should...well almost. I still got this very annoying problem that phone just shuts down. The strange thing is that I can only boot it back on by removing battery (and than insert it back in and holding power button ofc). If I try to turn it on just by holding power button nothing happens.
    Is anyone else have similar problem or any idea how to fix this?
     
  10. bitxboi

    bitxboi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009

    Aug 21, 2009
    323
    6
    36
    I had a random reboot yesterday, first time ever on my I7500, firmware H8. It just started with the screen locked on, but no need to type my SIM card PIN, strange. Otherwise my phone's running well (excepting battery life)
     
  11. z0mbi3

    z0mbi3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    105
    0
    35
    I've noticed identical behaviour under H8 myself.

    I've had the phone since last Monday and up until Thursday it was running H6 with no issues. During Thursday day time I updated to H8 with Odin, and that same night it had shut off and needed the battery reseating before it would turn back on. Thinking it was a one off I carried on as normal, until last night where the same thing happened again.

    I've factory reset it today and reinstalled my apps and am just playing it by ear at the moment. The only thing I didn't do when upgrading, aside from factory resetting, was not using the cache.img part of the firmware update.

    Anyway, having factory reset I'll monitor and see how it goes.
     
  12. m4j3r

    m4j3r Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    well...i got my phone with g8 firmware and there were no problems with shut downs (lot of other issues though:D).
    After that I updated it with odin to h7 and this problem has started (I didn used csc file that time). Finnaly I updated it to h8 few days ago with odin (I used cache.img this time and done factory reset) and this problem persists.

    So I guess there is something wrong with updating via odin or there is bug in h7/8 firmware.
     
  13. koy

    koy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009

    Aug 29, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    I had the same problem with G8 and H8, but not with H7 and H5.

    No one has found the cause of it yet.
     
  14. cpwood

    cpwood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    31
    4
    16
    Just to add some confusion to the mix (sorry)...

    I had this exact problem with H7 several times, but not had it happen to me once with H8 (yet).

    I realise that this is contrary to everybody else's experience though... very odd...

    Chris
     
  15. m4j3r

    m4j3r Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    Hmm really strange:thinking:
    Did you update it with odin or you used NPS?
    Well I am not really sure if this problem was present on my phone with g8 firmware, because battery life was teribble with that fw and you can't really test it if phone shuts down every 8 hours becouse of empty battey:D
     
  16. cruz

    cruz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009

    Jul 1, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    This exact problem has happened to me a few times (phone will only turn back on after reinserting the battery). I have yet to upgrade firmware so still have the original H6 firmware that the phone came with from O2 UK.
     
  17. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i have not experienced this problem with h8 firmware
     
  18. rrautane

    rrautane Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Hello

    I also have these random shutdowns. Usually phone stays on 20-40 hours and then it silently shuts down. During this state phone is not recognized if usb lead is connected. Only way to get it back on is to remove and reinsert battery.

    When I got this phone I immediately upgraded firmware from I7500XXIFF to I7500XXIH7 (did not use CSC). I don't know if there was a problem with initial firmware because I didn't use it long enough.

    Couple of days ago I upgraded to I7500XXIH8 (deleted cache.img) and the problem persists. I did factory reset before and after upgrade.

    I really like this phone but it's really annoying to constantly monitor if your phone stays on.

    On a side note I once noticed (with IH7 firmware) Android System constantly consuming 80-90% of cpu time. Situation was gone after reboot and I have not seen it since. Another oddity (again with IH7) was that alarm clock would not always ring. Alarm would show on screen but no sound was produced. I have yet to test this with new firmware.

    Any ideas how to troubleshoot the problem? Are there any log files in Android system which could bring light to this situation?
     
  19. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    253
    1
    36
  20. cpwood

    cpwood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    31
    4
    16
    I received my phone with I7500JVIG4 (Middle Eastern firmware) and flashed it to I7500XXH7 using Odin. I then flashed to I7500XXH8 with Odin too.

    Chris
     
  21. rrautane

    rrautane Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks for the link. I set up adb and got the log but it seems this log does not survive reboot so it's quite useless. It might show something interesting if someone could save it just before crash. But that is quite unlikely considering that crash happens at random intervals.

    I think we can only hope these crashes have something to do with "unofficial" updates and will go away after full official update via Samsung PC Suite. But this might very well be a hardware defect and we may have to RMA the phone.

    Hopefully this is a software issue and Samsung will issue a fix for this very soon.
     
  22. z0mbi3

    z0mbi3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    105
    0
    35
    I doubt it's a hardware issue and I doubt it's how you flash it either. I reckon it's a software bug that's been persistent across various versions but only manifests under certain circumstances that are rare enough for only a handful of us to be complaining about it.
     
  23. m4j3r

    m4j3r Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    Yeah it must be software issue. Samsung should really work more on software of this phone before they released it, because out of the box this phone was practicaly useless. Really shame though, because hardware is great...

    About that issue...I found out it ussualy happens when you are runing application which is using more ressources, and when phone goes to sleep (turns off screen) it crashes.
    For example: I was taking pictures with phone and when I wasnt using it for a while it automaticaly locked with camera application running in background. When that happened it was crashing really often (like 5 times in one hour).
    Now if I kill all aplications before i lock it, it ussualy stays on...but I don't really need android then :D
     
  24. Maniaque27

    Maniaque27 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009

    Aug 4, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Hi,

    Just noting I've got the same issue - G8 updated through Samsung PC Studio thing, and it's been doing the reset OR just "die" thing relatively consistently for weeks. It never occurred to me that it might have been after the firmware upgrade (the upgrade came only a couple of days after I got the phone), but it seems perfectly possible.

    I've rooted the phone and saw recently that there's a Hero (or hero-like?) image available at HDBlog.it - I might try that and see if it helps. I'll try to post back here afterwards (might be a few days though, I'll have to wait for at least a week before concluding that everything is OK).

    hth,
    Tao
     
  25. Maniaque27

    Maniaque27 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009

    Aug 4, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    OK, so I realized that I was talking about G8, the latest firmware from July, and others were talking about H8, the latest firmware from August - so my comments were not worth much.

    I just updated to H8 but still plan to install the hero-like ROM from hdblog.it, which itself is based on G8 - so I don't expect to see any improvement.

    (except there should be other cool stuff in there like netfilter support, enabling tethering!)

    Oh well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...