1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problem Installing custom ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by melantus, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. melantus

    melantus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    169
    47
    43
    So I'm rooted, used clock works to create a backup. I'm trying to use the Alfonso gingerbread rom. I cleared data/factory, and cache partition. I put my rom in the root of my SD card and named it update.zip, and im getting an error when I try to apply.

    "failed to open /sdcard/update.zip (no such file or directory)" I double checked the name and that was in proper place (wasn't in a folder). Please help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,811
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,811
    13,863
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Are you sure that Windows didn't automatically assign the extension? You may actually have update.zip.zip. Please verify that :)
     
    melantus likes this.
  3. melantus

    melantus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    169
    47
    43
    yeah that was the issue, but now I get "E signature fail" XD
     
  4. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    From your post it looks like you did not flash a different recovery. Does your recovery have a triangle with an exclamation mark? If so you have the stock recovery and it will not let you load a custom ROM.

    If this is the case, run ROM Manager and up at the top choose flash clockwork mod recovery. Then do another backup to be safe! Once your phone restarts go into clockwork mod and reboot into recovery (make sure it is not the stock recovey with the triangle and exclamation mark). If your in the Clockwork Mod Recovery then wipe data and wipe cache (3 times each is what many recommend) and locate the ROM file and choose to flash it. You then reboot your phone once it has flashed and you should be in business. Also when you use Clockwork's Recovery you do not have to rename the ROM file just make sure the name has no spaces.
     
    melantus likes this.
  5. melantus

    melantus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    169
    47
    43
    followed your instructions as soon I "rebooted into recovery" I got the triangle with exclamation and cell phone next to it. So now what?
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,811
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,811
    13,863
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Do just what Skilaufen said to do. Go into ROM Manager and flash ClockworkMod recovery. I would add 2 steps: after flashing Clockwork, scroll down and flash alternate recovery (SP Recovery) and then flash ClockworkMod AGAIN. That should cement it into memory. Then try x+power again.
     
    melantus likes this.
  7. melantus

    melantus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    169
    47
    43
    ok doing those two extra steps did it lol!!! Because w/out them I was getting the same ol result. Now hopefully I don't have any issues uploading custom kernels for speeding up my CPU. Thanks both of you this is awesome GINGERBREAD!! :D
     
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,811
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,811
    13,863
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Great! Now make another backup :)
     
    melantus likes this.
  9. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    Great. I'm glad it worked. And because it's always worth repeating as Chief said make a back up, and have fun with your new ROMs:)
     
    melantus likes this.
  10. melantus

    melantus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    169
    47
    43
    Quick question guys when I flashed obviously I lost all my apps/contact info. I manually put all this stuff back onto my phone. My question is there a more painless way to do this lol?
     
  11. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,811
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,811
    13,863
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Not really. Google backs up your contacts and apps to the cloud, so those will restore once you log in. MyBackupPro can backup your SMS, MMS, Bookmarks, Alarms, etc. so you can restore those quickly. Just don't try to restore system settings across different ROMs or between Froyo and Gingerbread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...