1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problem installing update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thompson1041, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. thompson1041

    thompson1041 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    Hey all. I have a problem I hope you guys can help me with. I got the update on my rooted TBolt toady. It downloaded and powered off no problem but when it went to install it, it gets about
     

    Advertisement

  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Uh oh. You may be in trouble.

    Power off,then power on holding volume down. Tell us if you're back to s-on,or still s-off. Select recovery with the volume rocker and power button and tell us if it goes to clockwork recovery or the triangle with the ! (The stock recovery)
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  3. thompson1041

    thompson1041 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    It's still on s-off. It won't let me select recovery. It automatically selects fastboot.
     
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    That's good. With s-off you still have some options. Best course of action would be to get to clockwork and reflash a rom or restore a backup,so keep trying until yo get to clockwork or the trangle ! Screen. If there is a pg05img file on your card put it in a cardreader and remove it. Be very careful what you do right now... you don't want to flash an ruu that takes away your s-off unless it's a last resort
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  5. thompson1041

    thompson1041 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    Everytime I power the phone on it's on for about a minute before it shuts itself off automatically to try and install the update. It there anyway to turn off the auto power down?
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    If you can get the SD card into a CPU delete the PG05IMG.zip that is on the root of the SD card. Then you should be able to boot into hboot by pressing volume down while you power on and you should then be able to get into recovery.
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Stop trying to power it on. Only go to hboot... and try to get to recovery. You might try pulling the battery for a minute.
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  8. thompson1041

    thompson1041 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    Ok, I managed to delete the PG05IM.zip file from my SD and get into recovery mode but what do I do now? I never made a recovery image to boot into so every time I try it powers down and tries and fails to install the update just like before. It is possible to install a recovery ROM on to the SD card via card reader and boot into that? I don't have much personal stuff on my phone yet so doing a hard reset really wouldn't bother me much.
     
  9. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You need to download a rom and radio likely. If you want to stay on stock then download them here. [ROM] Official 1.70.605.0 MR2 OTA Deodexed Rooted Busybox Mirrors Added :D - xda-developers

    Otherwise you should grab the radio linked there and pick another rom.

    Not sure which way you want to do this but you need to flash the rom in recovery.
    First clear data/factory reset, clear cache, go to advanced and clear dalvik cache.
    Put it somewhere on your SD card boot in recovery, choose flash zip from SD, choose zip, navigate to the zip and choose to flash it.

    Then you would choose reboot, rename the radio PG05IMG.zip and put it on the root of your SD. You will then need to power the phone back off and go into hboot, press volume down while powering on. Press volume up to update once it scans the SD, and then power when it prompts to reboot. Once your phone is rebooted from that it should be working again. You can also check this post for more detailed directions
     
    thompson1041 and WormDoes like this.
  10. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    im glad this worked out for you,as its possible that you could be holding a very expensive paperweight in your hands right now instead of a working phone becasue of it.

    hopefully in the future youll research things a little closer,and you have learned your lesson about tryiing to accept OTA updates. clockwork recovery cannot install them,and apparently it cannot block them,as it does on other devices. if you want to install an official OTA(for whatever reason) youll need to unroot first

    id also advise you that if you(also for whatever reasons) want to stay on stock,rooted firmware,you will need to keep your eyes and ears open on the forums. whenever there is an OTA,it will be turned into a flashable rom so that you can contiune running the same firmware as the nonrooted phones of the world. its the same code.... you just have to flash your updates in recovery rather than getting them OTA.

    if you want to flash and forget,might want to consider running a custom rom,as they are usually built without the parts of the stock rom that check for and instigate OTAs ;)

    i dont mean to pick on you,but just want to drive this point home for you and others that may be readin along now,or in future searches... DO NOT ATTEMPT TO TAKE AN OTA WHILE ROOTED

    *stepping off of soapbox... lecture over :)
     
    thompson1041 and rexdog1888 like this.
  11. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Just to add to scotty's post make at least 1 backup in nandroid.
     
  12. thompson1041

    thompson1041 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    Sorry it took me so long to do this but I wanted to get my phone up and running again before I thanked the both of you for the help you gave me. You made me see the situation rationally when I could have done something to screw it up even more. And Scotty85, I don't feel that you were picking on me. It was a hard lesson that I needed to learn. So thank you both again.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  13. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    No problem man glad I could help
     
  14. Fruban

    Fruban Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    78
    7
    16
    Male
    I had this same issue a couple weeks ago when I first got my TB... and these two are life savers :p They always help me out when I have a problem and always seem happy to help. Always ask first before doing anything you arent familiar with (and look at the stickies at the top of this thread too!).

    I took an OTA update that I shouldnt have and could only stay on for a bit like you, just had to flash a different ROM on there to take care of it :).
     
  15. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    WormDoes made some stickys to warn people about OTA and root hopefully that will help more people in the future
     

Share This Page

Loading...