1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problem trying to root my Samsung Epic G (Sprint)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ferrel, May 25, 2011.

  1. ferrel

    ferrel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Chemistry, Assistant Professor
    Del Rio, Texas
    Installed Root Checker App
    Copied z4root.1.3.0 to my sd card

    Power down - battery out - battery in - power on

    USB connected
    USB debugging connected

    Open z4root.1.3.0 with Astro File Manager
    Open App Manager
    Install - result: application installed
    Permanent Root Screen - hit the button
    running exploit to obtain root access
    acquiring root shell

    Everything then stops, screen shows the listing of z4root.1.3.0, and
    nothing else happens.

    Ran Advanced root checker:
    Root access is not properly configured or was not granted.
    Standard su binary location:
    /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
    Standard su binary location:
    /system/xbin/su: No such file or directory
    Alternate su binary location:
    /sbin/su: No such file or directory
    su binary not found in the system declared PATH

    One thing, after all of this, my phone is ``very slow'',
    which can only be remedied by removing the battery.

    Can anyone help help me solve this problem?
    Best,
    Ferrel
     

    Advertisement

  2. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,622
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,622
    4,625
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    Moving this to the appropriate forum.
     
  3. ferrel

    ferrel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Chemistry, Assistant Professor
    Del Rio, Texas
    Which forum is that?
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    z4root doesnt work use the one click with 3.0.2.5
     
    ferrel likes this.
  5. ferrel

    ferrel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Chemistry, Assistant Professor
    Del Rio, Texas
    That worked! Thanks very much.
     
  6. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,622
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,622
    4,625
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    Moved from the general GalaxyS to the Epic4G all things root forum. Though a Epic is a GalaxyS class device, it is not a GalaxyS. Confusing? yes! Blame Samsung for that one! It's not a problem, I wanted to see if we could get you a better answer.
     
  7. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    it isn't a galaxy s but it is?? :thinking:

    mind explaining further on that?
     
  8. traumaj

    traumaj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    51
    7
    16

    I'll try to use my truck as an example. I have a dodge ram. A dodge ram 1500 quad cab to be specific. There are also 2 door ram 1500's. There's 2500's too. There are more models than this, but you get the picture... They are all dodge rams. Just like the galaxy s line. We have an epic, but its still part of the galaxy s family.

    This confused me at first also. 2 of my friends have galaxy s models through diff carriers. While they all come from the same line, they all have diff tweaks to the os/rom to fit that specific phone and carrier. This is why only certain roms/rooting methods work for us... they must be specific to our epics...

    Hope that made sense...
     
  9. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    hmm.. i mean i knew that the epic was apart of the galaxy s class, but i just didn't understand what he meant when he said it isn't a galaxy s lol..but thx for your reply.

    by any chance, do u kno if i can install the 2.2 update that my phone keeps prompting me to do and still have the ability to root after the update? or is it better to root from the 2.1 stock build?
     
  10. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    you can root from any stock release ;)
     
  11. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    okay i just rooted on the stock 2.1 that the phone came installed with. i have superuser so i can use the ota update for 2.2 and i'll still be able to flash roms for 2.2 or 2.3 without error?

    just clarifying
     
  12. ZiggSVO

    ZiggSVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    215
    49
    43
    I think the Galaxy S forum is for the actual Galaxy S phone. Like the Fascinate, Epic and all have their own forums, the actual Galaxy S does also?
     
  13. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    I'm not 100%, but I believe you don't get OTA updates when rooted. I think you have to restore to stock, then update to 2.2, then root, then install whatever ROM you wish to use (esp if you're using an EC05 based ROM).

    Please let someone else confirm this though, as I'm not 100% sure.
     
  14. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010


    z4root doesn't work, but Gingerbreak does! Woot, woot! :D

    Source: Myself, I just rooted my phone, like a few mins ago! xD
     

Share This Page

Loading...