1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Problem upgrading Samsung GS to latest firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vajolirojah, May 31, 2011.

  1. vajolirojah

    vajolirojah Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hello

    I have just upgraded my Samsung Galaxy S to the latest firmware 2.3.3 and now operating on Gingerbread. I have upgraded the latest version of Samsung Kies.

    When I tried to then do the same upgrade on my boyfriend's Samsung GS, on plugging into Kies, it said he was operating from the latest firmware, and no upgrade was required. But the details listed an older version and nowhere was it possible to upgrade to 2.3.3. Is there an obvious reason for this?

    It's evident from some of the new available settings and stylistic features that I am operating on a completely different version of the firmware.

    Can anyone offer any advice?

    We are both operating on model GT-I9000 and O2 network in the UK.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Danzaroonie

    Danzaroonie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    21
    1
    16
  3. Rofa

    Rofa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    Can't help there but you might not want to rush. There seem to be a couple of bugs in Gingerbread. In particular the Android OS bug which rapidly discharges the phone. Not unique to Samsung BTW - seems a software bug.
     
  4. paritoshnaidu

    paritoshnaidu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hey guys,

    I've upgraded my firmware for galaxy s to 2.2 and since then am not able to connect to any wifi network. The scanning of available networks and selecting a particular network is possible but once i select a network n when it prompts for the wifi key the connect button is not active without which i cannot connect to the network.

    plz help tried all the setting in wifi but nothing seems to work ...

    cheers

    Paritosh
     
  5. Danzaroonie

    Danzaroonie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    I would do a factory reset on the phone see if that resolves the issue.
    You can do this either using the 3 button combo - hold volume up and home button while powering on the phone.
    You can also do a factory reset in the phone menu under Privacy. Note both option will remove your data/contacts etc so backup first.
     
  6. rayhipkiss

    rayhipkiss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    408
    87
    53
    Male
    UK

Share This Page

Loading...