1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Problem with custom contact ringtones

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ruth5662, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. realguyinj

    realguyinj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I have the new Galaxy Note 5
    I had the Note 3
    I have searched far n wide... no solution to the custom ringer.
    On my note 3 it was no problem I would select the contact scroll down look for the link to ringtone and then I would select my ringtone there is no such thing on the note 5 I am seriously considering going back to T Mobile today and after only 3 days of having a note 5 going over to Apple which I really don't want to do but custom ringer was one of my most important features on my phone so I know if I am actually receiving a business call or a personal call or a call from a family member
     

    Advertisement

  2. Brenden Salter

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015

    Dec 26, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    I too had this problem. What I found to be the solution (and I don't know if this helps) is I had turned my sync off for my Google contacts. Once I turned it back on, it worked perfectly. I was able to make my wife's custom notification tone work.. And I would assume it would be the same for the ringtone. So you just have to make sure, especially if your contact came from when you connected to Google's apps, that sync is on. After that you should be able to set the ringtone and have it stick! Best of luck!
     
  3. Mila Dinkova

    Mila Dinkova Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016

    Dec 7, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    Hello,
    I have the same problem (Samsung galaxy s7 edge). Today I install from Google play app "Ringtone Maker". It show me for every of my contacts which ringtones is set. I have a problem with the ringtone I use for my mom. Using Ringtone Maker I saw for all contact I have on the phone wich ringtone is used. And only for my mother's phone number was this melody, but for her contact from skype it was not. I changed it and now there is no problems.
    I hope I explain well, because English is not my native language.
     
  4. Amontae

    Amontae Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016

    Jun 9, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    Ok
    Folks I'm not sure this will work for you but it did for me go into contacts find the setting that shows display contacts our contact settings make sure you only have one setting and not all contacts from like Google, SIM, SD Card, etc this worked for me in only using Google and it's corrected. Good this will help someone trust me I know the frustration today dealing with this that's why I dread updates and New phones.
     
  5. Cherbear123

    Cherbear123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017

    Sep 14, 2017
    3
    0
    15
    Hi I just resently did the 7.0 update and I have set up different ringtones for my friends and now when I went to set it back up I can't set it back up because of the update change everything can someone please help me out on how to set my ringtones back on my contracts I try googling it but it's not giving much info on how I can fix it.
     
  6. Cherbear123

    Cherbear123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017

    Sep 14, 2017
    3
    0
    15
    I just did the new 7.0 update a few days ago and I have a ringtone set up for my boyfriend I got the ringtone from zege but when he called it went to the difficult ringtone and I tried Googling it to see if I could change it back but it's not giving me much information on how to change it back and I was just wondering if this happened to anybody else I have the Samsung Galaxy S5 Neo and when it did all the updates and stuff it change my ringtone to the one originally had set up I tried to edit through contacts but it's not showing me ringtone and vibration setting does anybody know what I have to do to fix the situation I would really appreciate if somebody would get back to me on this
     
  7. Cherbear123

    Cherbear123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017

    Sep 14, 2017
    3
    0
    15
    I got all my ringtones from Zedge which is a app and a few days ago I just did the 7.0 update for my Samsung Galaxy S5 Neo and I have a special ringtone set up for one of my friends and they called me earlier today and now it's back to the difficulties tones I was just wondering if anyone could help me solve this problem I tried doing it through contacts through the person's name but it's not letting me go any further and I tried Googling it and I can't find anything on how to set it back up if anyone knows how to fix the situation that would be great I would really appreciate this my email is Cheri.weaver28@gmail.com if one of you guys could email me or reply back on here that would be fantastic I just really want to figure out how to set my ringtone Back original e had
     
  8. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #207
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    349
    113
    88
    Male
    I think I have a solution for your all use..You have to be rooted..FIRST OF..or at least have access to your system files with a file manager other than the one the phone comes with.. then you go into the storage tab, then the emulate..then the 0, then ring tones file..You copy your ring tones in there..then reboot your phone..also try to copy them into System, then media, then sounds..delete the existing ones and replace them with your own ones..

    Let me know.
     
  9. Rithik

    Rithik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sunday

    Sunday
    1
    0
    5
    I solved my prob by doing this.
    go to ..contacts..settings..contacts to display...
    If ur contact is repeated in any 2 list it wont play individual ringtone
    So tick each google account go back see ur contact verify it is not repeated in 2 lists
    Like if contact Mr.A in device he shouldnt b repeated in google account list.delete frm google account list..if contact repeats in watsap list..its ok
    Like wise chk if ta contact number is saved under 2 names in phone contacts also..

    Checking and deleting duplicates will solve the problm of playing individual ringtone for each contacts..
    Also make sure ta song to play is in right format and right folder.

    Hope tis helps
     
    #84 Rithik, Jan 14, 2018 at 5:05 AM
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018 at 5:22 AM

Share This Page

Loading...