1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problem with executing InstantRoot.apk

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jrohde, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. jrohde

    jrohde Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Hi

    Trying to root my Hero for the first time using this guide.

    I am downloading the InstantRoot.apk.zip file, extracting it to InstantRoot.apk, which I then copy to the root folder of the phones sdcard.

    When I try to execute it, using Astro, and choose "Open App Manager", it says "Could not open /sdcard/InstantRoot.apk as a APK file".

    What am I doing wrong? Is it maybe the unzipping that causes it?

    Thanks
    JRohde
     

    Advertisement

  2. Doodylicious

    Doodylicious Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    As far as I am aware, the .apk should download as an APK not a zip. Try renaming the original download to InstantRoot.apk and remove any .zip extension.
     
  3. jrohde

    jrohde Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    Thanks Doodylicious. That did the trick!
     
  4. avenge the rage

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Hey mate, how did you get this working, cause i can't see the .zip after the .apk, and i cant et it to install.

    Thanks
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Right click the file on your pc, and delete .zip and replace with .apk
     
  6. Doodylicious

    Doodylicious Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    If you can't see a .zip and it won't run on your hero (as in a file manager like ASTRO can't open it, you may have "Hide Extensions For Known File types" ticked on your PC.

    You may need to find "Folder Options" on your PC, and click the "View" tab. Then scroll down and find "Hide Extensions For Known File Types" and untick this box.

    EDIT: Not sure why it downloads as a .zip for some users though.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...