1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Problem with mail sync

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Anqders, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. Anqders

    Anqders Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hi guys

    I am currently having a problem syncing my phone with our Exchange mail server and need help.

    The problem is that the phone will try to connect to http://mailserver.domain.xx:443 and not https://mailserver.domain.xx

    This is not the same thing though it would seem like it. When using SSL the phone must connect with https because of the use of SSL.

    This is in our case only a problem when sitting on the internal network. When connecting through 3G (external connection) our Forefront (ISA) server redirects the connection to https.

    Is there a way to make the phone use https instead of port 443? (Android version 2.1)
     

    Advertisement

  2. staffsmatt

    staffsmatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    153
    9
    36
    Hi, if your inside your network you could set up a forward lookup zone on your DNS. eg:

    if your webmail server is mail.domain.com set up a forward lookup zone called domain.com (you may already have one) and set Host(A) record called mail to point to your webmail servers IP address.

    That seems to work here.

    Matt
     
  3. Anqders

    Anqders Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hi

    mail.domain.com is set up as you say and is pointing to the mail servers internal IP-address at our local DNS servers. This does not work because then the connection does not go through the ISA server.
    If you mean that I could point the A-record to the external IP-address I think your are right. That should work, but in my case our firewall does not allow that, and I will have to call a a consultant company that manages our firewall, and that cost $$. :)

    ..There is no way to change this on the phone?
     
  4. staffsmatt

    staffsmatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    153
    9
    36
    No I did mean internal, our mail server isn't behind a firewall internally.

    I don't know of a way to change this, hopefully someone else will be able to help.

    Matt
     

Share This Page

Loading...