1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Problem with Market

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Augustus_4, Jul 5, 2011.

1. Augustus_4

Augustus_4 Newbie
    None

Jul 5, 2011
    So today I finally built up the confidence to root my optimus. In the first few hours I was extremely happy with my decision. However whenever I was just typing in something on the web and my phone restarted for no reason. And when it turned back on that I can't download any apps from the Market. Now I already tried the activate trick which sometimes works, but I don't want to reset to factory since *gasp* I haven't yet created a copy of my phone yet. So any advice would be welcome outside of you should have saved your phone earlier. And by the way I'm totally new to rooting. P.S. also my market still has the old gray theme still instead of the new green one, and I was wondering if this might have something to do with my problems?

Advertisement

2. tater_salad

tater_salad Member
    None

Apr 29, 2011
    Western NY
    Did you only root it or did you also install a custom rom as well? If you only rooted it you can run un-root from one touch

3. Augustus_4

Augustus_4 Newbie
    None

Jul 5, 2011
    I just used gingerbreak which I believe is just rooting. What's really the difference?

4. cutterjohn

cutterjohn Android Enthusiast
    None

Apr 29, 2011
    Yep. Gingerbreak roots and installs a couple of things and the version past 1.1 IIRC(i.e. early versions) have an unroot option as well...

Installing a custom fw, "ROM", means replacing the stock fw entirely with a modified or completely new version of a different Android version, e.g. CM7 based = gingerbread(2.3.x). Rooting just gets you complete access to your device with maximum permissions possible, i.e. "root" which is more or less equivalent to Windows(and other OS) admin account...