• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Problem with partitioning external sd card and using Link2SD

svrsmiley

Lurker
Jul 30, 2013
Hi,

I have a Samsung Galaxy POP GT-S5570. Due to its limited internal memory, I've been trying for the last 2 days to partition the sd card and use link2sd on the 2nd partition. Once I do this, I'm unable to get my Windows 7 PC to recognize the sd card... Here's the full detail of what I did. I'm a novice, and the first time I went through this process a couple of days back, I screwed up my phone royally, and had to visit the Samsung service center to get a factory reset done. So, yeah, my phone is in virginal mode as I start these steps.

1. Rooted my phone as per instructions (I had no problems here)
  2. Installed the CWM recovery module as per the instructions. CWM also appears to be running fine, I seem to have no problems here.
  3. Used CWM to partition the sd card. Did it successfully.
  4. Installed Link2SD. It seems to recognize the 2nd partition.
  5. At this point, if I connect my phone to my Windows 7 PC, even after enabling USB mass storage mode on the phone, it does not show up as a drive on my PC.
  6. I unmounted the SD card, loaded it into my card reader, and loaded into the PC. It recognized the card, but said the card needed to be formatted before use.
  7. Not knowing what else to do, I tried using MiniTools to format the SD card on the PC. No effect, windows explorer still said the drive needed to be formatted. So I used windows explorer format option to do a full format on the sd card.
  8. After this, the PC recognized the card, but when I loaded it back in the phone, the phone could not detect the 2nd partition (probably wiped out??). I used CWM to re-partition the drive. Now Link2SD recognized the partition, but it has also brought me back to Steps 5/6. My comp will not recognize the card.